Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Drums To Disks

jeebowhite

Not sure if I read it in this forum or somewhere else, but I am wondering can you change Drums to Disks on the back? and if so what is the benefit?

Not sure if I read it in this forum or somewhere else, but I am wondering can you change Drums to Disks on the back? and if so what is the benefit?

yes its possible, ive done it to my focus.

there is no real benefit, although discs are easier to set up and can take more abuse than brake drums under heavy braking. plus they look better.

What would you rate this job as from 1 - 10 were 10 is difficult. and what sort of cost is involved?

What would you rate this job as from 1 - 10 were 10 is difficult. and what sort of cost is involved?

given that im no mechanic but i do about 90% of all my own jobs on the car i would rate it a 4.

its not hard, just time consuming (2-3 hours) and will require a few basic tools

i spent more than i should have, but i would say anywhere between £150-£250 depending on where you can source the parts? sometimes it cheaper to buy a full axle and strip it..

im nightshift tonight so i need to leave for work right now, otherwise i would love to stay on here and talk.

I would think this is a very big job to do.

You would obviously need to fix calipers somewhere and run new brake lines.

Stick with the drums. Its one less set of pads you have to worry about renewing!

I would think this is a very big job to do.

You would obviously need to fix calipers somewhere and run new brake lines.

Stick with the drums. Its one less set of pads you have to worry about renewing!

its not as big a job as you might think,

you remove the old drums and stub axles and bolt on the hubs and stub axles for the discs, the calipers then bolt onto the new hubs.

no need to renew any brake lines but it does require longer brake hoses :) but its a good excuse to get goodridge ones B)