Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Advice On A Pair Of Focuses

Pete236

Afternoon all.

I'm a newbie on here, just after a little advice and a few opinions please!

I'm after a more modern car to supplement my 1973 MG Midget. I love the old MG but it's no longer practical everyday, and with the salt going out of the roads, now is a good time to get something else!

Have always fancied a Focus. I've spent 3 years in an all makes garage and can't remember any persistant or regular faults with any of our customers Focuses.

I've got a couple of options at the moment which I'd like to run past the members here and get some opinions!

A T reg 1.6LX. 52000miles, FSH and known to this garage for several years. Trouble is, it's very very scratched and with one or two dings it really doesn't look up to the £1650 asking price (though he's dropped it from 2K to me!)

My other option is a Vreg 1.8LX. 102K miles. Again, it's been known to this garage for several years. Recent cambelt and 3 new tyres. It's pretty clean inside and out. Asking price is £750 BUT It has a chipped tooth on reverse gear. It's been driven like this for 2 years with no problems. I don't know anything about Ford 'boxes (unless it's the ones supplied to Rover for the MG ZR) so would the 'chip' be a problem? Or could it be something rather sinister?

A few other questions: Would the low mileage be a problem? Are there any bits of a Focus that seize up from low mileage?

Likewise, are there any bits likely to go with the high mileage?

Are Focus 'boxes easy to source or repair if it did go pop?

I need something that will be reliable for a good few years. I won;t do many miles but will be going to Germany in March, and possibly to Scotland next summer.

Thanks for reading,any opinions and info are very very welcome and much appreciated!

Pete.

Hi Pete,