Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Vss Sensor Location 1.6Tdci

stuggyzx10

Hi to all i am a newbie here although not to Fords and sorry to come straight in with a problem :(..........I purchased another Focus for the wife to go with my ST....Its a 2005 1.6TDCI i have heard all the horror story's of blown turbo's etc..but it is a great car for the wife and she likes it...the problem i have is that when it reaches over 3500rpm in 3rd ,4th or 5th gear it comes on with the red warning light displaying a cog with the exclamation mark in it and drops revs to 3000rpm turn it of and back on and it clears ok ........The error code is PO500 (speed sensor)...i have another speed sensor the Ford prt number supplied by Ford is 1136248 or known also as prt number 97BB9E731-AE which according to Ford is for this car which has the MTX-75 gearbox as its diesel...all ok so far ...so with prt in hand and car up on ramps i looked everywhere on the box and even got a local mechanic to check also... who reckoned it was above the driveshaft like on the mondeos but above the driveshaft is what looks like a Black plastic box which i think may be a breather box or filter not sure but its held on with a bolt then pushes onto a plastic ball...so between us we are puzzled as we could not find it ??..... it must have one or how can speedo work ...but please can somebody point me in the right direction or better still a picture of it if possible a Haynes manual tells you diddly...so if anyone has the knowedge it will be very much appreciated......