Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Newbie Needs Help With Misfiring Mondeo

The grebo

Hi newbie here would appreciate some advice please, I have a mondeo 1.8 LX 2006 petrol with (ahem) 269k on the clock, yeah it's high mileage but its been maintained properly all it's short life. The problem I have is when it's cold it runs lovely, sweet as a nut, loads of power no misfires etc but as soon as its warmed up it judders and misfires and occasionally backfires if I try to pul away with the revs fairly low, if I use each gear to the Max it's ok but it's not practical, I have fitted new leads, new plugs, and new coil pack but nothing has really changed, I have taken egr off cleaned it and put it back on but apart from making engine mgmt light go out it hasn't stopped the juddering. Any ideas would be much appreciated thank you,

Also was gonna change fuel filter, could it be that, ive changed them on lots of cars and never seems to make any difference..

Probably just needs run-in then it will be fine :lol:

the fault/s may be connected to the high milage and the engine may be basically "worn out"

the engine may deteriorate further and be prepared for it to be beyond economical repair, with an engine transplant being cheaper/ more cost effective than repairing the old one - or selling the car on while its still running

Check the breathers for signs that the bores are worn or get it compression tested

it is possible the bores(pistons/ rings) are worn out and form a seal when the engine is cold and lose compression when they are warm,

Firstly cheers FOCA for your reply, when you say check the breathers for signs of worn bores what exactly do you mean by that, I assume you mean breather hoses and which ones would I check and what would I be looking for re signs of worn bores,

And thanks mick for your reply what is the cheapest way of getting my compression tested?

Thanks again, - Andy