Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: St170 Clutch/flywheel
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford Focus Club
Hayezy
Hi All,

bit of a newbie here, and not had a car for years, been using the 2 wheeled beasts instead.

Anyway, I've bought an ST170, had it a few months now and its been good, had it serviced before 37,500 miles. It was running like a dream, until I noticed that the clutch might be on its way out. I've had the usual tell tale signs, the clutch is biting right at the top, and the clutch pedal is higher than the brake pedal.

I was just going to replace the clutch (if it goes), and possibly the flywheel. The DMF are quite expensive and a friend of mine mentioned there might be a solid flywheel conversion kit.

Does anyone know if there is such a conversion kit?
artscot79
[quote name='Hayezy' date='21 July 2010 - 01:00 PM' timestamp='1279713036' post='89286']
Hi All,

bit of a newbie here, and not had a car for years, been using the 2 wheeled beasts instead.

Anyway, I've bought an ST170, had it a few months now and its been good, had it serviced before 37,500 miles. It was running like a dream, until I noticed that the clutch might be on its way out. I've had the usual tell tale signs, the clutch is biting right at the top, and the clutch pedal is higher than the brake pedal.

I was just going to replace the clutch (if it goes), and possibly the flywheel. The DMF are quite expensive and a friend of mine mentioned there might be a solid flywheel conversion kit.

Does anyone know if there is such a conversion kit?
[/quote]

hydraulic clutches do sit very high up and its not necessarily a sign of wear if the clutch isnt slipping then leave it well alone ive had cars with high bite points and they have lasted years with no clutch slip its just the way these hydraulic clutches are mate
zev
[quote name='artscot79' date='21 July 2010 - 01:17 PM' timestamp='1279717654' post='89289']