Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help With Dtc Codes
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford Focus Club
dougy.b
Hi all, Newbie here.
i've got a Focus 1.6 Zetec, 51 plate.

Ok, I'll start by mentioning that ever since i have owned the car (2 years now) i have had an issue with the speedo. on occasion it would stop working for a few seconds, then in winter it would do it more frequently and for longer periods. although it is a fault it has never really been a problem and has never turned the engine warning light on.
However, this morning i looked down to see that my speedo was up to it's old tricks again, only this time i had the engine warning light on as well.

So after reading this forum i found that i could do a self diagnostic by holding down the reset button on the speedo and turning the engine on.
I cycled through the tests and have got these DTC codes from it:

D123 Invalid or Missing Data for Odometer
D041 Invalid or Missing Data for Vehicle Speed
9318 Battery Voltage Low

I have also been told by a friend that it is possible that an issue with the alternator/low battery voltage could cause my speedo to do this.

so all in all these errors seem to hit the nail on the head, but as my speedo is now working again should the engine warning light have turned off or do i have to reset it. or possibly a new battery might help?

any help appreciated, thanks
Doug
dougy.b
Oh, i forgot to mention that when the speedo stops working the cars tends to kangaroo a bit in low gears, and the power drops (electric), I only noticed this because the volume of my stereo drops whenever the speedo fails, so that could explain the low battery voltage error.
H3lly
It sounds like the speed sensor (located on gearbox) is at fault. The cylinder head temp sensor can cause this too. It's located between the spark plugs, and the cable causes interference when it comes in contact with the spark plug ht cables.
dezwez
i would say speed sensor happens a lot :)