Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Alternator
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford Mondeo Club
harryp
Hi

Im new to all this but i need to change the alternator on my 2001 2.0DTTi mondeo estate is this going to be a hard job to do?

I so far have limited myself to doing my own brakes but due to lack of funds im having to expand my knowledge.

I need to know if i am going to need any special tools? or if the is it best to access the alternator from the top or bottom of the engine?

Like i said im relativly new to tinkering about with the more intermate parts of the engine so i would even have a little trouble locating it to start off with, but once im there im reasonably technically minded as im a sheet metal/mechnical engineering technician. and once i have my head round what it is that im doing im usually ok.

so if anyone could help me out with any advice it really would be a big help.

Harry
tommy.h
Hi Harry

if you are reasonable at DIY you should find it a doddle.
it is not that hard just a couple of spanners. (be careful when unplugging the electrics though)

tom
fishpond 47
[quote name='tommy.h' timestamp='1292519775' post='106946']
Hi Harry

if you are reasonable at DIY you should find it a doddle.
(be careful when unplugging the electrics though) BATTERY MUST BE DISCONNECTED

tom
[/quote]

sorry for adding to your post Tom.
tommy.h
[quote name='fishpond 47' timestamp='1292521339' post='106953']
sorry for adding to your post Tom.
[/quote]

no problem fishpond all input welcome none of us are perfect. think my memory is on it's way out anyway.
harryp
thats good to hear

thanks tom

i read in the haynes manual that i need to remove the rod ends (which requires a ball joint seperator) to make room to remove the alternator through the wheel arch?
is that really nessecary because i know that the manual it shows the correct procedure but there are often shortcuts that are not mentioned.
tommy.h
Hi Harry