Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Looking To Buy A Focus Diesel - What To Watch For?
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford Focus Club
altreed
Hi,

I am looking to buy a circa 2003 Focus TDci for my niece. What are the things to check on to avoid buying a problem/lemon. Are there any typical 'weak spots' on the Focus TDci?

Many thanks for any advice, I'm new to Ford and Focus.

Dave
Lenny
[quote name='altreed' timestamp='1313834744' post='140747']
Hi,

I am looking to buy a circa 2003 Focus TDci for my niece. What are the things to check on to avoid buying a problem/lemon. Are there any typical 'weak spots' on the Focus TDci?

Many thanks for any advice, I'm new to Ford and Focus.

Dave
[/quote]
Hi Dave,
the focus is a great car, diesel is very easy run mine is a 1.6tdci and i get 980km on a full 55ltr tank its brilliant although
Please click my link below for 2010 focus rusting, its my focus, bought it new from the garage, not even 10,000km and the rust appeared in the boot, its a fault with the design in the model where the ruber pipe for the rear window water jet rubs off the body taking the paint off and rusting, ford attempted to correct this by putting a anti chip pad like clear laminate, but as you can see with mine its in the wrong location,

other problems can be the front lock for the bonnet can seeze needs to be oiled regularly, check it opens before purchase,
johnH
i would obviosly check the service history and past MOT history to see if there are any reoccuring issues...

also i would look to see when the Dual mass flywheel/clutch was replaced and if a Diesel Particulate Filter and Additive is fitted and has been serviced to schedule and when the next is due...normally DPF every 75k and Additive every 37.5k miles. if you get one that needs that doing it could ruin your day and budget.