Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mk3 Tech That Isn't Quite Up To Scratch
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford Focus Club
pavr27
One of the reasons I bought the new Focus was that is was crammed with gadgets (or gimmick!). I'm a sucker for tech.

However, having owned the car for 3 months now, I have a few observations to share with regard to some of the functionalities of the new car. I don't know whether they are limitations to the tech, or problems with my car (I suspect the former, but would be interested to hear from others)

Not sure which of the following gadgets are standard or part of the extra options, but for what it's worth, I have the Driver assistance pack and ACC as options.

1)
Auto full beam: Not sensitive enough to other traffic on the road (I have played with the sensitivity, but I'm thinking that the sensitivity is more geared to controlling when the lights come on in relation to how dark it is). On many many occasions I have been flashed by other road users because the full-beams do not cancel quickly enough with oncoming vehicles. I also notice that the same is true when there are cars a distance away in front (but still likely to be close enough to be annoyed by my full-beams in their rear view mirror.

Don't get me wrong, it's not wildly out...just a fraction of a second too slow to cancel. It also engages full-beam sometimes when I consider it inappropriate - ie on dual carriageways/motorways when oncoming traffic head ligthts are slightly obscured by the central reservation barrier.

2)
Auto - wipers. Dreadful. Very random, very inconsistent - quite often they do not clear the screen quickly enough. Also I notice they never clear the screen when you first start the car - I always end up having to do it manually. I've played with the settings, and ensured the camera/sensor view is clear.

3)