Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Non Linear Throttle Response.
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Ford Models > Ford S-Max Club
termin8r
Hello everyone. I'm new to ford ownership. Bought a pre-reg with 0 miles smax in October. It is 2.0 TDCI zetec. Already had the window motors replaced on the front. Bad start..

Next issue seems to be the non-linear reponse from the accelerator which causes difficulty in taking off from stopped. If i press the accelerator slowly whilst in neutral , there is no reponse from the engine. At a certain point it then jumps straight to around 2000rpm or higher. Why is this? My friend you co-incidently bought the same car seems to have the same problem although i have not tested their car.

ECU anomaly?
It certainly makes the car hard to drive without either conking out or revving it excessively,

Any ideas?

Sam.
FOCA
There may be a number of reasons for this -

1 - The throttle is a potentiometer (variable resistor) it sends an analog signal to the ECU - (like a mouse on a computer) it is not connected directly to a carb or thottle bodies like in the "old days" it is far more complicated than that - the symptoms you are experiencing may have nothing to do with the throttle itself (as you have suggested)

2 turbo lag, these engines can suffer from turbo lag, where the turbo takes time to boost up, it can be worst off the line/ in the lower gears

3 power band - the engine may have a "power band" where the power & torque is in a relatively narrow band - for example the engine may be "gutless" below 2k, then there is a sudden rush of power, then the power drops off above 3.5k - some engines are like this - the mondeo TDDI was like that, and the PSA Mondeo 162 is like that -

a remap, bluefin or tuning box can help this