Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Lifting Jack Kit For An S Max?? Help!
Ford Owners Club - Ford Forums > Welcome to Ford Owners Club > General Ford Related Discussions
Nickytwister
Hi all,
I'm quite new to the Ford Forum; recently bought an S Max with 18" Titanium alloys when my Sharan got stolen. Love the car but hate the lack of spare so I bought a 16" Ford steel wheel off of eBay with a high profile tyre as a spare.
However I don't own a lifting jack (all my tools got nicked too) and no-one in the S Max section could help me with which one to get which might fit.
Does anyone know what's best to buy? Mondeo? Galaxy? I want to keep it with the car so a trolley jack isn't ideal.
The seals appear to be the vertical pressed style with no flat lifting areas.
Anyone know?
Many thanks in advance guys.
Nick
Foci_st3
You would have to find and earlier 2003-2004 galaxy or sharan that had the wind up cable for the spare as that jack will be sufficient enough to lift the car or find ya self a 2tonne bottle jack.
Foci_st3
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SJ2-SEALEY-Bottle-Jack-2tonne-Sealey-SJ2-/251221325181?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3a7df5357d
Nickytwister
Cheers fella - the bottle jack looks great but I think it would destroy my seals.
I guess I need a jack with the groove along the top; I'll check out the Galaxy/ Sharan ones like you suggest.
Many thanks.
N
Foci_st3
The pros for a scissor jack are that they have a cup style bit for the sill
Cons they tend to be weaker and harder to operate as your screwing a thread in to make it go up

Pros for bottle jack they are much stronger more stable and lift the vehicle a lot easier