Jump to content


Photo

cuts out after seconds please help urgent!


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 beanyjon

beanyjon

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo mk1
  • Location:

Posted 23 August 2008 - 02:48 PM

I need help i have exhausted my brain on this one!

I have a L reg MK1 Mondeo 1600cc petrol, A few weeks ago driving down the M6 the engine suddenly stopped, i still had lights and radio so knew it wasn't the battery and had recently filled up the tank so knew i hadn't ran out of fuel, while waiting for the RAC i tried the car and it started for about 10 seconds then cut out again. The RAC guy eventually came and said it was the ECU not delivering fuel through the injectors properly, he then towed me home.

I sent the ECU away to be repaired and was charged 90 to be told it was fine, so then i started looking at other possibilities, by taking out the spark plugs i could see they were sparking but there was no fuel going into the engine but if i left the car alone fr half an hour a small amount seemed to build up to start the car for about 10 seconds then it would run dry. first i thought it could be the fuel filter clogged so i changed that, still no luck.

I noticed that the battery kept draining in minutes, so today i brought a new battery, and success the car started and for about 2 minutes it was fine (longest its ran since breaking down) then it cut out again but i could start it straight away then it would die after about 10 seconds again. I pumped the accelerator to make sure the fuel was getting thought after it had sat so long i though maybe there may have been an air gap in the pipes then i left the car for a few hours, when i started it up it started up fine, become it went to idle i revd the engine and this worked fine for about 5 minutes then i let it go to idle and it stayed working, after another minute i tried reving the engine again but it cut out, now I'm back to it starting ever half hour for 10 seconds, I'm sure if i leave it a few hours i can get it to rev again for a while, but I'm out of ideas as to what the problem is and I'm spending way too much money on my guesses! any one have any ideas?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,480 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 23 August 2008 - 10:55 PM

this could be a sensor fault like the mass air flow (comman prob) did the rac mention any codes? or it could be a fuel problem e.g fuel pump or pump relay, a code scan would be a good place to start.

#3 beanyjon

beanyjon

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo mk1
  • Location:

Posted 23 August 2008 - 11:40 PM

How do i do a code scan?

#4 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,480 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 24 August 2008 - 02:49 PM

one thing you can try is looking at the contacts on the fuel pump relay these ave been known to rust, for the codes you need to plug in a code reader for this dont go to fords as they charge a fortune,try a friendly local garage to see if they will do it cheaper

#5 beanyjon

beanyjon

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo mk1
  • Location:

Posted 25 August 2008 - 12:42 PM

I rang my local garage, and mobile technician. They both said it will probably show several error codes because i have changed parts but will give me scan codes for 150 which i think is a bit high seeing as they said the codes arnt exact but will only point to areas that may be in trouble so may end up changing other unnecessary parts :(

The also said not to trust the ECU is ok as they have had several sent away to be looked at and have been told are fine but are not, is this a common thing? could i have been ripped off?

I'm really not sure where to go from here, I've spent about 200 on parts and i know the car is fine once it is running!

#6 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,480 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 25 August 2008 - 03:20 PM

150 for fault code reading is way to high who was that with Bodgit & Scarper? Ford charge less than that and you can buy your own reader for under 100.Try another garage

PS you can clear current codes and then start afresh with the reading

#7 beanyjon

beanyjon

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo mk1
  • Location:

Posted 03 September 2008 - 05:57 PM

Sorry about the late reply, i haven't found any1 who will do a reading cheaper than 95! today i had some time so read about the forums for inspiration, there were a few things i tried that haven't had any effect however i did notice there is a wire with a plug on the end that isn't plugged onto anything. See the images below. The white wire connects to the Cat which the last owner had replaced and is still under warranty but the where the black where connects to the white cable there is another plug, is this meant to be connected to something? Ive checked all around the area for somewhere for it to connect to and cant find any which makes me think either A) something has fallen out or B) its for a higher model and irrelevant to my model. Please help!

Posted Image
Posted Image

#8 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,480 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:34 AM

why do manufactors use the same looms for various cars just confuses the hell out of things, to me it looks like an aux plug for a higher grade of model.i dont think you will win by just trying different things on your car sometimes you just have to admit defeat and book it in, with all the sensors nowadays you could go on for weeks !

#9 beanyjon

beanyjon

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: mondeo mk1
  • Location:

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:08 PM

Haha yeah, i dont think there much more i can do and its really not worth spending the money the professional will charge especially with the price of scrap soo high at the moment! I think this car is going to the scrap heap in the sky!
Thanks for all your advice!

#10 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:18 PM

Is a shame you havent been able to find a solution, it does sound like a fuel issue and may not be pumping correctly.

#11 mondeo family

mondeo family

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Ford Model: modeo mk2 (2.0ltr 16v si)
  • Location:

Posted 07 October 2008 - 03:12 PM

have you tried taking the pump off and pumping fuel from a jerry can into a clear drum as you may have a doggy pump as iv had that problem on my old escort and after scrapping it i was told i should of checked it that way hope this info helps

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users