Jump to content


Photo

Speedo Goes To Zero Any Advice?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 bex51focus

bex51focus

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: focus

Posted 31 May 2010 - 04:28 PM

hi ive got a 51 plate focus, 1.6 zetec. ever since i got it the speedo keeps dropping to zero it is happening more and more but then sometimes wont happen for few days. i have read and heard that ford focus`s do have problems with the dash. any advice on what to do. was going to have new vehicle speed sensor fitted last week but garage said it wont necessarily fix the problem, so didnt have it done. it is only the speedo that drops the radio volume also goes lower too. but no other gauges drop. pls help shed some light on what i can do. thanks.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,663 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 31 May 2010 - 06:45 PM

The focus has a AVL feature I think its called Auto Volume leveling, but thats linked to speed, sounds like its not being picked up at the gearbox...

#3 C-Max Boy 1983

C-Max Boy 1983

    Area Rep: South Scotland

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 218 posts
  • Ford Model: C-Max Zetec 1.6 TDCI

Posted 31 May 2010 - 07:26 PM

Your problem is the VSS (Vehicle Speed Sensor) which you need to replace ASAP, I have heard of horror stories where the car will just cut out one day and you lose all the power, I had this problem on my Focus Zetec, I think it is a cheap fix as well and if you confident with a spanner then you should be ok to replace this yourself.

Davy

#4 bex51focus

bex51focus

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: focus

Posted 31 May 2010 - 09:31 PM

hi i was going to get it done last week for 70 quid, but the garage said it most probably wont fix the problem as they have had problems with the dash and only ford can fix it for 300 quid. not sure what to do dont want to pay 70quid and it dont fix it. it apparently something to do with the lead in the solder used when the speedo unit was made. any more advice?

#5 bex51focus

bex51focus

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: focus

Posted 31 May 2010 - 09:32 PM

hi i was going to get it done last week for 70 quid, but the garage said it most probably wont fix the problem as they have had problems with the dash and only ford can fix it for 300 quid. not sure what to do dont want to pay 70quid and it dont fix it. it apparently something to do with the lead in the solder used when the speedo unit was made. any more advice?

#6 adz01

adz01

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Chic

Posted 04 June 2010 - 09:22 PM

definetely sounds like a VSS to me, :s

#7 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,543 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 04 June 2010 - 09:57 PM

VSS

#8 TECHY7

TECHY7

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: FOCUS, GHIA.1.6
  • Location:

Posted 14 June 2010 - 03:55 PM

Hi,

I have had both problems ie; problems with the DASH and problems with the VSS.
My car is a 03 Focus 1.6 Ghia (petrol)
The problem with the dash seems to effect this year mainly, and the prolems I had with it were not confined to just the speedo, and were caused by corrosion of the VIAs on the printed circuit board starting to corrode.
The problem with the VSS and the thing I think is most likely your problem, will effect the speedo and the radio, in my case both would suddenly increase then drop back down again to normal.
The reason the radio increases is because the VSS sends a signal to the ECU which in turn sends a control signal to the radio's volume control circuit, the idea being the faster the car goes the more road noise etc; is generated so the radios volume is turned up to compensate, and vise-versa.
The VSS is not a big job to replace but it is slightly difficult to get at.
Hope this helps.

Regards,

Techy7.

#9 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,891 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 14 June 2010 - 06:27 PM

Hi,

I have had both problems ie; problems with the DASH and problems with the VSS.
My car is a 03 Focus 1.6 Ghia (petrol)
The problem with the dash seems to effect this year mainly, and the prolems I had with it were not confined to just the speedo, and were caused by corrosion of the VIAs on the printed circuit board starting to corrode.
The problem with the VSS and the thing I think is most likely your problem, will effect the speedo and the radio, in my case both would suddenly increase then drop back down again to normal.
The reason the radio increases is because the VSS sends a signal to the ECU which in turn sends a control signal to the radio's volume control circuit, the idea being the faster the car goes the more road noise etc; is generated so the radios volume is turned up to compensate, and vise-versa.
The VSS is not a big job to replace but it is slightly difficult to get at.
Hope this helps.

Regards,

Techy7.



you can get the cluster repolaced for 99 quid including labour if its faulty

#10 TECHY7

TECHY7

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: FOCUS, GHIA.1.6
  • Location:

Posted 14 June 2010 - 06:44 PM

you can get the cluster repolaced for 99 quid including labour if its faulty

Hi artscot79,

Thanks for the info.
Yes I am aware that I could get the cluster replaced for 99, but I had taken my cluster out and repaired it before all the publicity on television (Watchdog, RAC Forum etc;) and it has been okay since.
I was also concerned about the mileage being incorrect after a new cluster has been fitted.
I did take photographs just as a mattetr of interest.

Regards,

Techy7.

#11 alz

alz

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus LX 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 14 June 2010 - 07:38 PM

Do you also lose power when speedo goes to zero

#12 TECHY7

TECHY7

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: FOCUS, GHIA.1.6
  • Location:

Posted 15 June 2010 - 04:27 PM

Do you also lose power when speedo goes to zero



Hi alz,

No I did not lose power.

Regards,

TECHY7.

P.S. Sorry alz not sure if you were asking me as your question appeared in my Inbox. If you were not I apologize.

TECHY7.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users