Jump to content


Photo

Sat-Nav Problem?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 John_Connor

John_Connor

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Zetec Focus '59

Posted 05 June 2010 - 10:12 PM

Hi, had a look through the search function and I can't find this problem anywhere.

I believe I have a Blaupunkt satnav ('59 plate 1.6 TDCi Focus with the Communications Pack), but after nearly a fortnight of ownership, it's started doing something very weird. The map function will work fine up until I give the satnav a destination. At that point, it will no longer track the car's position, instead going down the route dictated at a constant speed (it ends up about 15 miles ahead on a 40 mile journey).

After it reaches the destination, I am no longer able to revert the map back to tracking the car, nor can I ask it to direct me to a new destination; the map is stuck on my destination (though I can still access the cd player, linein and so on). Nothing I have tried seems to correct this, unless I leave the car for a while (an hour plus), when the map will once again work properly until I enter a destination.

Anybody know what's happening? Or how to fix it?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,457 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:53 AM

if you have the blaupunt dx/ex unit you can recalibrate it, in the destinations screen you will see an option for extras,in the extras screen there is a section called cal/test where you should find the re-calibrations menu.if none of this cures the fault get back to the dealers as you have only had the car fot two weeks

#3 John_Connor

John_Connor

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Zetec Focus '59

Posted 06 June 2010 - 10:26 PM

if you have the blaupunt dx/ex unit you can recalibrate it, in the destinations screen you will see an option for extras,in the extras screen there is a section called cal/test where you should find the re-calibrations menu.

Hi mintalkin,

Thanks for the swift reply :)

Been there & done that. I re-calibrated the system whilst travelling at a steady speed on the A1 on Friday. Took a good 10 mins or so, but still not working correctly.
I have seen a discussion saying that it may be in "Demo Mode" but if it is - how do I turn "Demo Mode" off? Have gone through every option I can find - all to no avail.

Also seen mention that you can turn off individual buttons (those that intrude onto the map display) but again, how do you do that?

As an aside - how do I know whether it is a dx or an ex unit?

The seller (a Car Supermarket) wasn't interested when I called in on Saturday afternoon, but referred me to a main Ford dealer (I can name names here).

Finally, is there a manual for this system?? I can't seem to find any info on either the Ford Uk site nor on Blaupunkt's. None was provided with the car and there is no info in the car handbook.

Thanks in advance.

#4 John_Connor

John_Connor

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Zetec Focus '59

Posted 06 June 2010 - 10:39 PM

Double Post

DELETED

JC

#5 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,457 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 07 June 2010 - 02:45 PM

here is a download for the manual
http://fordfcsd.wund... Pilot DX - EX/

#6 John_Connor

John_Connor

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Zetec Focus '59

Posted 07 June 2010 - 06:18 PM

Hi again mintalkin

Thanks for that link. Sadly, it doesn't appear as if my unit is a DX or EX as it does not look like any of the units on page 3 of the manual.

My unit has the 5" colour screen (but it is not a touch-screen version) and has the map data on an SD card.

I'll try to upload a photo shortly.

Cheers

JC

EDIT: Page 9 seems to show my unit (from the same site as your link):
http://fordfcsd.wund...8en 05-2009.pdf

My unit:

Posted Image

Thanks. Hope this is of future use :)

JC

#7 Preload

Preload

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 Dura Titanium
  • Year: 2014
  • Location:

Posted 08 June 2010 - 05:40 PM

Hi again mintalkin

Thanks for that link. Sadly, it doesn't appear as if my unit is a DX or EX as it does not look like any of the units on page 3 of the manual.

My unit has the 5" colour screen (but it is not a touch-screen version) and has the map data on an SD card.

I'll try to upload a photo shortly.

Cheers

JC

EDIT: Page 9 seems to show my unit (from the same site as your link):
http://fordfcsd.wund...8en 05-2009.pdf

My unit:

Posted Image

Thanks. Hope this is of future use :)

JC


I have just downloaded the same pdf as I have been looking for a manual for a while.

I'd like to thanks for the original link Mintalkin as it put me in right area.

#8 paulli

paulli

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 09 June 2010 - 12:35 PM

Hi

I have the same unit in my focus, it is a Blaupunkt FX. I similar didnt have a manual and contacted Ford customer service (which are useless) with no help from them.

I have since got a photocopy of the manual from a friends father in law last night, but havnt had time to read it yet.

It also says that you are supposed to have a CD with it to copy to a SD card using the unit but this isnt true all you get is the SD card which at the moment I havnt found a way of copying. I did post the problem on this site but have had no replys.

I will look at the manual tonight to see if it says anything about your problem.

keep smiling :)

paul

Ps I see from the screen that you are in sheffield same as me so maybe I could Photocopy it and send it to you or arrange to meet somewhere.

#9 John_Connor

John_Connor

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 TDCi Zetec Focus '59

Posted 09 June 2010 - 01:48 PM

I will look at the manual tonight to see if it says anything about your problem.

keep smiling :)

paul

Ps I see from the screen that you are in sheffield same as me so maybe I could Photocopy it and send it to you or arrange to meet somewhere.

Hi Paul,

Problem is sorted. It WAS in demo mode and now that is turned off!. Just need to check it out sometime.

Thanks

JC

#10 BSH

BSH

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Name: Stephen
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Norfolk

Posted 10 October 2011 - 07:39 PM

Hi
I have the same sat nav unit that is talked about in this thread but can anyone tell me what the symbol to the left of the time means.
Steve

#11 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,059 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2011 - 08:25 PM

Hi
I have the same sat nav unit that is talked about in this thread but can anyone tell me what the symbol to the left of the time means.
Steve



SD Card is inserted

#12 smidsy_2

smidsy_2

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: michael
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 16 April 2014 - 05:05 PM

Hello all!

 

I am new to this site, I owned a 2007 Focus ST up until a week ago, where I traded in for a 2010 1.6 TDCI. I have the sat nav pictured above. I have been trying to get it to work with no luck. I called ford near where I live, they told me it should come with an SD card, which it didn't. I called the dealer where I bought it and after much arguing, they sent me one.  (2GB- once plugged into my PC only has 500ish MB used space)

 

I thought that all would be solved....but no.

 

the problem is, I cannot search a postcode. the error message is along the lines of cannot search destination, insert media card. I cannot even search cities or towns.

 

The dealer where I bought the car is a 3 hour drive away from where I live so difficult to get a resolution.

 

the page with the manual above will not open for me. can anyone email me a copy please?

 

is it possible to copy an existing SD card from someone else to a new one of mine?

 

Any help would be much appreciated :)

 

Mike



#13 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,302 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: Non Ford at the moment
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted Yesterday, 12:21 PM

Hello all!

 

I am new to this site, I owned a 2007 Focus ST up until a week ago, where I traded in for a 2010 1.6 TDCI. I have the sat nav pictured above. I have been trying to get it to work with no luck. I called ford near where I live, they told me it should come with an SD card, which it didn't. I called the dealer where I bought it and after much arguing, they sent me one.  (2GB- once plugged into my PC only has 500ish MB used space)

 

I thought that all would be solved....but no.

 

the problem is, I cannot search a postcode. the error message is along the lines of cannot search destination, insert media card. I cannot even search cities or towns.

 

The dealer where I bought the car is a 3 hour drive away from where I live so difficult to get a resolution.

 

the page with the manual above will not open for me. can anyone email me a copy please?

 

is it possible to copy an existing SD card from someone else to a new one of mine?

 

Any help would be much appreciated :)

 

Mike

Mike. PM me your email address and I will send you the pdf file. It includes both the Touch Screen version and the non Touch Screen versions of the FX. Sounds like they sent you the wrong SD Card for it.

 

It should be this one:

http://www.ebay.co.u...ce1#ht_63wt_958



#14 smidsy_2

smidsy_2

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: michael
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted Yesterday, 12:39 PM

Thanks for the reply.

I have attached a pic of what they sent me. Completely different. I am trying to get a neighbours SD card to see if that resolves the issue, just waiting on them getting back to me. Can they be copied? I remember in the thread someone was trying to.

I shall pm you now and thank you.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20140417_132611.jpg


#15 btmaldon

btmaldon

    Ford Enthusiast

  • FOC Supporters
  • 2,302 posts
  • Name: Bruce
  • Ford Model: Non Ford at the moment
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Essex

Posted Yesterday, 12:51 PM

They cant be copied as far as I know and tried.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users