Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Mk7 1.25 Zetec Progress Thread


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#16 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 23 July 2010 - 05:44 PM

Ye, cheers
I gave exactly the same bit of advice in a recent thread RE:tinting

I would have to be VERY VERY unlucky to get stopped and light gunned (very few have the tool anyway)
And, like was said, they're lighter in real life than they look

Most old bill now aswell dont pay a blind bit of notice to anythin unless its blatent speed or one of their machines/systems makes a noise!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#17 studly

studly

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Name: s
  • Ford Model: Crumpled DS3
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 23 July 2010 - 05:59 PM

Ye, cheers
I gave exactly the same bit of advice in a recent thread RE:tinting

I would have to be VERY VERY unlucky to get stopped and light gunned (very few have the tool anyway)
And, like was said, they're lighter in real life than they look

Most old bill now aswell dont pay a blind bit of notice to anythin unless its blatent speed or one of their machines/systems makes a noise!


I just thought i'd pass on my sisters experience lol ;)
I have my swift sport tinted with 15% Llumar ceramic film, only car i've had tinted and my ickle neice has had a play with photoshop last weekend lol.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Hijacking of thread over lol B)

#18 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 12 October 2010 - 01:25 AM

Tints look nice mate...

Well, minor update:

Since bashing my door I have used a mates touch up stick from his mk6.5 in the same colour and the damage is barely noticable.

Have also procured a box for my sub ...

Posted Image

... and have ordered an autoleads wiring kit and autoleads rca converter.

All being well will have the wiring done by the end of the week if the items arive, then i just have to get my amp!!

Also, washed the car thoroughly on saturday, and today gave it a wash, AG Super Resin Polish and AG Extra Gloss Protection.

Posted Image


Pretty chuffed with the outcome. Now i just need some wax!

Posted Image

#19 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 12 October 2010 - 04:01 PM

The RCA converter came this morning

Posted Image

Will it be obvious as to where the 'earth' is on my stereo unit (assuming it is on the unit itself)

#20 jamham92

jamham92

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7 Zetec S Ti-VCT

Posted 12 October 2010 - 10:13 PM

The RCA converter came this morning

Posted Image

Will it be obvious as to where the 'earth' is on my stereo unit (assuming it is on the unit itself)


i have installed subwoofers into my fiesta and all i did was run it off the back speakers.
i alsohave 6x9's in so i bridged the 2 amps i have for power source and earth and then ran speakers off one and then sub off the other.

i ran wires from both left and right rear speakers and then into the RCA converter. then put the earth to a bolt in the boot. the RCA converter then plugs into your amplifier and so on..

thinking about the tints myself tho.. looks sweet

Jamie

#21 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 12 October 2010 - 11:03 PM

i have installed subwoofers into my fiesta and all i did was run it off the back speakers.i alsohave 6x9's in so i bridged the 2 amps i have for power source and earth and then ran speakers off one and then sub off the other. i ran wires from both left and right rear speakers and then into the RCA converter. then put the earth to a bolt in the boot. the RCA converter then plugs into your amplifier and so on.. thinking about the tints myself tho.. looks sweetJamie


Thanks about the tints! :D

but maybe i should have been more clear when talking about my install.

I am planning to use the rca converter off the back of the 'head unit' like has been done in this thread
Basically adding the speaker connections of the rca converter, pictured above, to the multi-block. But there is also an earth cable on the rca converter.. i dont know where this goes to (unless it there is an earth on the multi-block?) This is what i would like to know?

And so have you basically got extra wires coming off the +ve and -ve terminals of your rear speakers and into the rca converter which is located near to your sub and amp?
And then you have a really short length of rca cable from the converter to the amp?

#22 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 13 October 2010 - 12:01 PM

Wiring kit arrived this morning

Also, took the plunge and ordered my amp!
Couldnt wait any longer

Any help with the earth for the rca converter would be greatly appreciated tho

Thanks

#23 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 14 October 2010 - 06:06 PM

So... gave the wiring a couple of hours of my time today.. to start with i couldnt get the head unit out (was too scared about breaking something as there was waaay too much resistance on the 4 clips which hold the top cover on)

But managed to feed the power cable from the battery to the boot and the rca and remote from the boot to the drivers footwell

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

The power lead is obvious in the door shut however once wrapped with some black sheathing it should look fine.


I then decided to persist with the top cover, and, after hurting the ends of my fingers loads, i managed to pop it off

Posted Image


I followed the guide for the rest of the steps to actually remove the head unit

Posted Image

Posted Image

But i was unable to feed teh rca and remote up from teh footwell to the back of the stereo unit before night came. :angry:


Also, i am unsure about how i will be able to connect the rca converter i have to the back of the multi block - securely but without changing any of fords original wiring (i.e. no stripping fords wires)

Anyone with any experience point me in the right direction??

Thanks
Rob

#24 jamham92

jamham92

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7 Zetec S Ti-VCT

Posted 14 October 2010 - 10:16 PM

i know its not what you asked but your power cable can be run through the car.
i will get some pictures up if i can but i ran mine through a grommet in the engine bay which brings it out behind the glovebox. that way the wire is not visible at all after you run it under the door trim.

#25 sparticus5

sparticus5

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta Zetec S 1.6Ti-VCT

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:13 AM

"The power lead is obvious in the door shut however once wrapped with some black sheathing it should look fine".

Oh my God! Whatever you do, do NOT hook that power cable up. Rip it out and either a) take the advice of the above poster and route it thru the firewall or preferably B) have a professional install the amp.

I've installed many systems over the years - I've never actually though about installing anything in the latest Fiesta (I've certainly no intentions of doing so myself) but after having seen those pics, I'm curious as to where/how you intend to mount the amp? I'd have thought the most obvious / easiest place would have been under the front passenger seat but you've routed that power cable in the boot? Without lots of work, I can't see any where obvious to mount it.

#26 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 15 October 2010 - 11:10 AM

Are you joking mate??

My amp will be positioned next to, or potentially on the same enclosure, as my sub
Where do you usually put your sub and amp?

How do you suggest i power it if i "do NOT hook that power cable up"

And by 'professional' i assume you mean some spotty yout' on min. wage working at halfrauds or some other 'car auio specialist' who, may well have suitable experience fitting equipment into the majority of cars, but hasnt ever done it to a new car and couldnt care less about my interior

I would much rather do it myself slowly, asking lots of questions, than come back to my car with screwdriver marks all over the plastics and plenty of interior trim clips missing.

i have installed a fair few sub n amps into older cars, where feeding thru the bulkhead/'firewall' has been simple, however i am not willing to start taking my dashboard apart and drilling holes, albeit only in rubber gromets, in a car i only plan on keeping for another 18months maximum

however;

Jamham: thanks for your response
pics and a little explaination of how it was sone would be great
i would rather have it unable to be seen as long as it doesnt involve major work

#27 sparticus5

sparticus5

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta Zetec S 1.6Ti-VCT

Posted 15 October 2010 - 11:43 AM

Thanks for that flippant reply, I was merely trying to avoid all sorts of potential problems thrown up by your suggested installation at best, disaster at worst. As I say, haven't really given much thought about that sort of install in the latest Fiesta and would have advised on a rather more professional approach. However that reply suggests I'd clearly be wasting my time.

Good luck.

#28 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 15 October 2010 - 01:56 PM

I'm sorry if my response was a bit out of hand. I took what on said on board but it just didnt make much sense..

i have always used this positioning for my/others' amps, and have confidence in the setup

My issue is that i have always used aftermarket HU's with rca outs already on the unit

This tried and tested method of using an rca converter however is new to me and that is where i need the help.


My amp arrived this morning.

As i am typing this i have just managed to get the rca and remote up to the head unit (with the help of a good old straightened metal coat hanger!)
Just need to connect the rca converter and remote lead to the multi block.. still struggling! :unsure:

#29 Mk7_Rbj

Mk7_Rbj

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Robert
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 1.4tdci Titanium
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 15 October 2010 - 02:29 PM

And have decided to leave the power lead in-situ

Have fitted the fuse though now, and applied the trunking/sheathing

Posted Image

#30 jamham92

jamham92

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Fiesta Mk7 Zetec S Ti-VCT

Posted 15 October 2010 - 06:00 PM

hi
havnt managed to get pictures yet but there is no need to drill any holes in the grommets. i managed to get the power cable through the existing grommet and havnt had to drill anything at all. the wire simply comes through and then comes down behind the glovebox.. was a bit tricky to feed through but well worth it.
it does look a lot better tho now you have wrapped it!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users