Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

How to wire my 6x9s


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 03 September 2008 - 02:25 PM

hiya im new to this i was woundring how to wire up my 6x9s cuz there is no back speakers. I was thinking of feeding the wire straight to the front speakers or take the tweeters out and wire it to them. any ideas??

thnx

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 03 September 2008 - 03:17 PM

do you have a new headunit or a standard one?

#3 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 04 September 2008 - 08:30 AM

do you have a new headunit or a standard one?


yh ive got a new headunit m8

#4 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 04 September 2008 - 08:37 AM

If i remember rightly you should be able to wire the rear speaker cable into the back of the headunit and run it to the back and connect it that way. (i believe that is right as it has been a while since i fitted any speakers)

I am sure this is what we did in all our cars a few years ago, we ran the cable underneath the plastic coverings around the door so that it was protected and out of the way.

Once you've ran it down you can then put your connectors on the end of the cable and connect your speakers up.

#5 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 04 September 2008 - 08:48 AM

If i remember rightly you should be able to wire the rear speaker cable into the back of the headunit and run it to the back and connect it that way. (i believe that is right as it has been a while since i fitted any speakers)

I am sure this is what we did in all our cars a few years ago, we ran the cable underneath the plastic coverings around the door so that it was protected and out of the way.

Once you've ran it down you can then put your connectors on the end of the cable and connect your speakers up.



what colour cables will it be at the back of my headunit because my fiesta hasnt got back speakers only the front door speakers? its the only car i no without back speakers lol

#6 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 04 September 2008 - 09:10 AM

Is there 4 outputs on the back of the headunit? 2 for the front wires and 2 for the back wires?

#7 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 04 September 2008 - 09:25 AM

Is there 4 outputs on the back of the headunit? 2 for the front wires and 2 for the back wires?


there might be actually i cant remeber well i no theres outputs becuse my amp is plugged into it but i will let u no l8a m8

#8 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 04 September 2008 - 09:58 AM

Ok fella no worries

#9 vinnyvangough

vinnyvangough

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,315 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: 2003 Focus TDCi, Escort Mk6 RS2000, Mk2
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Devon

Posted 04 September 2008 - 12:48 PM

Wire in on a seperate channel on your amp. I never buy amplifiers with less than 4 channels so i can run 2 subs and 2 6x9's off the same amp.
Mind you my last setup in volved 2 15" subs, " 6x9's and 3 4 channel amps.
Here's some of it.

Posted Image

#10 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:17 AM

ive checked the back of my headunit and there is only 2 outputs n they are taken by my amp i would wire them to my amp but its only a 2 way channel and 1 is already used because of my sub any others way?

#11 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:33 AM

Cant remember if this is right but can you not run your back speakers off your amp and front ones of your headunit?

#12 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:45 AM

yh front speakers r running off the headunit and i got my amp runnin on the rear speaker channel on my headunit but the amp is a 2 way channel and ive already got my sub runnin on 1 of the channels n now i want to install my 6x9s.

#13 mig

mig

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford fiesta 1.25 16v mk4
  • Location:

Posted 05 September 2008 - 10:37 AM

i think i might of solved my problem now m8 ive jus brought a new headunit cuz m9 iznt very gd keeps cummin up that e12 thing n keeps jumping all my cds had a dvd player 1 with 7" monitor for 100 and its got a 4 way chanel at the back so might be all sorted now but thnx neway rikos i will let you know once i have set it all up

#14 Rikos

Rikos

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 857 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 LX

Posted 05 September 2008 - 10:54 AM

Yeah ok mate no problem, you could run your speakers through your amp and that way you may get a better sound.

Will have to come see your set up sometime and hear the sound, i come to stafford quite alot.

#15 vinnyvangough

vinnyvangough

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,315 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: 2003 Focus TDCi, Escort Mk6 RS2000, Mk2
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Devon

Posted 05 September 2008 - 11:47 AM

Sounds like you got a good deal there mate. I'm sellin all my stuff now.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users