Jump to content


Photo

Noob! How Do I Fit Alpine Stereo In A 2003 Focus


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 FocusJo

FocusJo

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: 2003 Focus 1.6i LX
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 12 July 2010 - 06:49 PM

Hi,

I have just bought a 2003 Focus. I have a Alpine DVA-9861Ri

I bought the
Fasica adapter FP-07-08
Harness Adapter PC2-08-4

But I dont know how to plug it all in?

If you can clearly see the photos I attached

FY1 to H2
HR2 to P1
FB1 to H1
HR1 to Z1

I think in my vectra I had R1-Y1

but it didnt power on. Have I done it right please help!!!



Cheers

Jo
focus1.JPG Alpine1.jpg

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 RCJ

RCJ

    Serial Poster

  • FOC Supporters
  • 461 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Ford Fiesta S1600

Posted 12 July 2010 - 07:34 PM

i wired my golfs, Flip out DVD player in with no problems but that looks confusing to me! lol have you tried taking it to halfords... lol

#3 RCJ

RCJ

    Serial Poster

  • FOC Supporters
  • 461 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Ford Fiesta S1600

Posted 12 July 2010 - 07:39 PM

Did the stereo not come with instructions?

#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,338 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 12 July 2010 - 08:32 PM

Did the stereo not come with instructions?


the focus is switched ignition meaning any aftermarket stereo will only power on with the ignition in the acc position as the original stereo had the ford battery saver in it so it would power on without the key in the acc position but would switch off after an hour aftyermarket units dont have this and it would need wiring to a permenant live which isnt advised try it wired up again and put the key in the acc position and see if it works if no power then the red and yellow may need swapped round

#5 FocusJo

FocusJo

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: 2003 Focus 1.6i LX
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 13 July 2010 - 06:53 PM

the focus is switched ignition meaning any aftermarket stereo will only power on with the ignition in the acc position as the original stereo had the ford battery saver in it so it would power on without the key in the acc position but would switch off after an hour aftyermarket units dont have this and it would need wiring to a permenant live which isnt advised try it wired up again and put the key in the acc position and see if it works if no power then the red and yellow may need swapped round



I did power it on with the engine running in the end. I have a feeling there was a loose connection but I'll try again later tonight. :-(
The alpine does have instructions but I don't really understand them.

#6 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,338 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 13 July 2010 - 07:50 PM

I did power it on with the engine running in the end. I have a feeling there was a loose connection but I'll try again later tonight. :-(
The alpine does have instructions but I don't really understand them.


its a lot of wiring to be honest but usually its easy enough all youre wires seem fine it may well be trial and error with this one

#7 FocusJo

FocusJo

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: 2003 Focus 1.6i LX
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 14 July 2010 - 07:44 PM

its a lot of wiring to be honest but usually its easy enough all youre wires seem fine it may well be trial and error with this one



WOOOHOOO!!! Its working I noticed that when I plugged it in, 2 wires came out the harness 1 of which was the yellow power the other was a speaker. After managing to clip them in without the wires popping out and reading the instructions which I now understand its works! and keeps the radio stations etc.

The only issue I have now is my steering wheel stalk that is able to change my track and volume etc doesn't work. I think I should have a harness that has 3 adapters not 2. I was assured this was the right harness! Im not so sure.

thanks for you helps guys.

Told you I was a NOOOOOOBB! ;-)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users