Jump to content


Show
Photo

Changing Batteries In Car Remote Keys


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 15 July 2010 - 01:07 PM

i am thinking of changing the batteries in my car remote, i think that it is not working as well as it should be. is there anything i should know about before changing the batteries.

all advice are welcome.

i have bought the car three months ago from a ford dealer and it is still under warranty. will they change the batteries for free?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jmurray01

jmurray01

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: MK1 Ford Focus LX 1.8 in Midnight Blue
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Moray

Posted 15 July 2010 - 01:15 PM

Why would you want them to pay for batteries ? A new battery is only 1! Easy to change! ;)

#3 hawker

hawker

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 Focus 1.6 TDCi
  • Location: Cardiff

Posted 15 July 2010 - 02:05 PM

just pull the key apart and replace with a new CR2032 battery

job done in under 30 seconds!

#4 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 16 July 2010 - 07:22 AM

so it is just like changing batteries in a remote control

#5 hawker

hawker

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 Focus 1.6 TDCi
  • Location: Cardiff

Posted 16 July 2010 - 09:53 AM

exactly

#6 DAS

DAS

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta mk3, focus mk1 2.0 esp
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 16 July 2010 - 04:26 PM

no, its not as easy as that, you have to reprogram the fob to the car, you do this by swithching the ingnition on and off four or so times until you hear a bong, then press any button on the fob and you should hear another bong.

#7 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,287 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 16 July 2010 - 04:28 PM

no, its not as easy as that, you have to reprogram the fob to the car, you do this by swithching the ingnition on and off four or so times until you hear a bong, then press any button on the fob and you should hear another bong.


im sorry but you do not have to reprogramme the fob every time you change the battery ive done about 20 and never ever has it needed reprogrammed ive done both my fobs one of which had a dead battery for months and it diod not need reprogrammed either

#8 DAS

DAS

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta mk3, focus mk1 2.0 esp
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 17 July 2010 - 04:39 PM

well everytime i do one i have to reprogram it. we'll see, the info's there if you need it.

#9 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 19 July 2010 - 07:21 AM

well everytime i do one i have to reprogram it. we'll see, the info's there if you need it.



i will let you know how it goes when i get the batteries

#10 andy_1984

andy_1984

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 131 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus LX Estate

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:23 PM

when i had to change my battery in my 2003 focus lx i never had to reprogram it, it all worked fine ???

#11 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,287 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 19 July 2010 - 12:25 PM

when i had to change my battery in my 2003 focus lx i never had to reprogram it, it all worked fine ???


as i say ive done it for friends who have had dead batteries for weeks and ive done both my remotes and never needed to do it either a first for me having to reprogramme every time you change the batteries

#12 hawker

hawker

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 Focus 1.6 TDCi
  • Location: Cardiff

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:24 PM

I must say I've never come across the need to reprogram after a battery change, and I've changed quite a few for many makes of car.

I have read somewhere that it is advised that the battery is changed within 10 minutes or so, so perhaps if you leave the battery out for too long then reprogramming would then be necessary

#13 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 21 July 2010 - 08:05 PM

hi all

i just changed the battery in the remote. i am now able to unlock my car from about 15 metres. The battery was cheap (3.20 for a pair of energizer). The key did not need any reprogramming. The whole operation took less than 3 minutes.

#14 DAS

DAS

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta mk3, focus mk1 2.0 esp
  • Location: Scotland

Posted 23 July 2010 - 08:42 PM

yeah sorry, i only replace dead batteries. hawker is rite, sorry for the misleading advice.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users