Jump to content


Show
Photo

Focus Dashboard Secret (Trick)


  • Please log in to reply
128 replies to this topic

#91 elephantman

elephantman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Matt
  • Ford Model: Focus 2
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 04 August 2011 - 03:13 PM

That's great. Just tried it now worked like a charm. I didn't discover any faults which is good since my car is second hand and I'm not sure how is cared for her.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#92 mrsam1

mrsam1

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: George
  • Ford Model: Fiesta mk8
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 07 September 2011 - 09:43 PM

Can anyone help with. I have a new set of speeds clocks for my fiesta mk8 2009 how can I get the clocks reprogrammed to my cars ecu. When I plug them in they work but the immobiliser light flashes and car won't start can you guys help.

#93 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 9,426 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 23 September 2011 - 08:31 AM

Can anyone help with. I have a new set of speeds clocks for my fiesta mk8 2009 how can I get the clocks reprogrammed to my cars ecu. When I plug them in they work but the immobiliser light flashes and car won't start can you guys help.


Hi,
welcome to the forum,
for best results, start a nw thread for this topic in the fiesta owners section,
your Fiesta is a Mk7 mate the Mk8 hasen't been designed yet, the Mk7.5 facelift is in the showrooms now.
the only way i can see to fix this is to contact ford for a ecu remap, to either bond with the gauges
or delete a file from the ecu so it doesnt communicate with the gauges for the immobiliser .

#94 stella123

stella123

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Name: Stella
  • Ford Model: Explorer
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 25 September 2011 - 03:53 PM

Hello all ,

I have found some info out a few months ago about my focus i got it off a ST170 SITE so credit does go to them but i will say it here anyways


*******WARNING DO NOT TRY THIS IF YOU LIKE TO KEEP A CHECK ON MILEAGE AFTER EVERY REFILL LIKE ME AS THIS WILL RESET THE TRIP METER******************

1.GET IN FOCUS

2.PUT KEY IN STEERING LOCK OFF

3.HOLD DOWN TRIP RESET BUTTON ON INSTRUMENT PANEL

4.TURN IGNITION ON AND START ENGINE

5.NOW YOUR CAR IS IN SELF DIAGNOSTIC MODE

YOU CAN NOW CHECK IF THE CAR HAS ANY DTC CODES IN THE MEMORY ,CHECK ALL GUAGES ,CHECK ALL INSTRUMENTAL PANEL LAMPS EVEN ONES U DONT USE E.G. ABS GLOW PLUG LIGHT ON PETROL AND AUTO GEARBOX LAMP YOU CAN ALSO SEE YOUR REV METER IN DIGITAL

Give this a go its quite cool and also dtc codes are usefull if you know what to do with them try googling dtc library there used to be a program you could get but i dont know if its avaliable anymore

Thanks


Matt :D


Thanks for the info, I will try it

#95 benjammo

benjammo

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 1998
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 04 November 2011 - 03:15 PM

great info thanks :)

#96 sjwred

sjwred

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 zetec Ghia
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:28 AM

Will this work on any focus ie: 2002 2.0 ghia ?

#97 tlogic

tlogic

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Name: saf
  • Ford Model: Titanium
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: London

Posted 30 January 2012 - 07:55 PM

I have just tried this trick and it works a treat. I'm getting no
DTC, codes however when it goes to'' Nvm EEPROM lvl'' I'm getting 0001 and F ail. What does this mean? I've only had my car a week. do I need to get checked out?

Thanks

#98 Greg Sugrue

Greg Sugrue

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Greg
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 08 February 2012 - 09:23 PM

Worked a treat on my 2011 Zetec, Thanks :)

#99 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 01:52 PM

I use thi trick a lot
to see speed and fuel level

I found one document about it in one brazilian forum of ford's

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Self-Diagnostic Mode - Instrument Cluster

1. To enter the instrument cluster self-diagnostic mode simultaneously depress and hold the tripmeter reset button then turn the ignition switch to position II or III.
2. Release the tripmeter reset button when TEST is displayed on the LCD. This will take between 5 and 8 seconds.
3. The instrument cluster will enter the gauge sweep test.
4. To navigate to the following tests while in self-diagnostic mode depress the RESET button to move to the next test.
5. The self-test is deactivated when the ignition is turned to the OFF position.

#.Test
#.Syntax Displayed
#.Gauge/Indicator/Display Tested
#.Description

#.1..Gauge sweep.
#.GAGE.
#.Tachometer, speedometer, temperature and fuel.
#.All gauges go through a full up and down pointer sweep smoothness check, which takes approximately 5 seconds.

#.2..Fill in all LCD.
#.8888.
#.LCD display built into Speedometer.
#.Fills in LCD display therefore seeing if display functioning correctly.

#.3..Indicator bulbs.
#.BULB.
#.Instrument cluster illuminates indicator and warning indicators.
#.Illuminates all the warning indicators that are controlled by the instrument cluster.

#.4..ROM level.
#.rXXX.
#.Instrument cluster read only memory (ROM).
#.Displays the instrument cluster ROM revision level.

#.5..NVM level.
#.EXXX.
#.Instrument cluster non volatile memory (NVM).
#.Displays the instrument cluster NVM revision.

#.6..DTC.
#.XXXX or NONE.
#.Diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs).
#.To list the DTCs stored, press the RESET button.
..REFER to the instrument cluster diagnostic trouble code (DTC) index below.
..The DTC codes will scroll through if there is more than one.

#.7..Road speed mph.
#.XXX.X.
#.Speedometer.
#.Displays the speed signal input in mph.

#.8..Road speed Km/h.
#.XXX.X.
#.Speedometer.
#Displays the speed signal input in Km/h.

#.9..Engine speed.
#.XXXX.
#.Tachometer.
#.Displays the tachometer input signal (RPM).

#.10..Fuel volume.
#.FXXX.
#.Fuel sender system.
#.Displays the fuel volume signal input.

#.11..Coolant Temp.
#.XXXC
#.Engine coolant temperature.
#.Displays the engine coolant temperature signal input.

#.12..Battery Voltage.
#.bXXX.
#.Battery Voltage (t).
#.Displays battery voltage input.

#.13..ABS fail.
#.Ab-[H/L].
#.ABS system.
#.Displays ABS raw cluster input. (H = open-circuit, L = ground).

#.14..Electronic Brake Distribution Failure (EBD).
#.Eb-[H/L].
#.EBD system.
#.Displays EBD raw cluster input. (H = open-circuit, L = ground).

#.15..Illumination.
#.IL-[H/L].
#.Cluster and instrument panel illumination.
#.Displays instrument cluster and instrument panel illumination. (H = ON, L = OFF).

#.16..Crank Sense.
#.Cr-[H/L].
#.Cluster and instrument panel crank sense.
#.Displays Cluster and instrument panel Crank sense. (H = Ignition, L = Ground or over-charging).
#.(Crank sense it the Pos I (Accessory) supply to the cluster. If this is missing then the cluster will remain dead for about 20 seconds after key on. Then it will function normally. This can happen when someone fits a radio and blows the accessory fuse).

Note:
Additional tests are available after number #.16 but are not useful for diagnostics.

Note:
Later vehicles had a "cost reduced" cluster that had a different Engineering Test Mode layout. These came in about 03-53 reg, and can be distinguished by only the symbol lighting up in the tell tale rather than the whole lot. (LEDs rather than bulbs).
These clusters used stepper motors for the gauges rather than the air cored ones and did not have a Gauge Sweep test?

Self ..........DTC.......... Description
Diagnostic
Mode
Displayed
DTC

9202 ..........B1202.......... Fuel pump module circuit open
9204 ..........B1204.......... Fuel pump module short to ground
9342 ..........B1342.......... Instrument Cluster ECU is defective
9317 ..........B1317.......... Battery voltage high (greater than 16V)
9318 ..........B1318.......... Battery voltage low (less than 10V)
9359 ..........B1359.......... Ignition Run/ACC circuit failure
A143 ..........B2143.......... NVM memory failure
A477 ..........B2477.......... Module configuration failure
D041 ..........U1041.......... Invalid data for vehicle speed
D027 ..........U1027.......... Invalid data for engine RPM
D073 ..........U1073.......... Invalid data for engine coolant
D262 ..........U1262.......... Missing speed, tacho, engine temp, or dometer count
D123 ..........U1123.......... Invalid data for odometer


worked a treat on my focus zetec. got the error code 9318-low battry voltage. confused as to how to work the fuel volume out "F150" fuel 150? i was hoping it would say "fuel 22 litres" or something like that lol so i acualy new the amount of fuel iv got in the tank.

#100 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 09 February 2012 - 02:02 PM

anyone no how to work out the amount of fuel in the tank from the fuel volume reading?
mine was F150. googled it but of course all i find is links to a ford f150 lol

#101 Chucky

Chucky

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Name: dan
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 tdci Zetec
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 14 February 2012 - 01:41 PM

Hi. Does anyone know when the fault codes show up in the dash when doing this test? At what point do they show up? And does anyone have a fault code description. Any help would be great.

#102 alex801

alex801

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Name: alex
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 zetec
  • Year: 2000
  • Location: Durham

Posted 15 February 2012 - 05:20 PM

the fault code is an easy spot. not sure what number in the secuence it is but they show like this..... 0001 that would mean you have one fault code the very next screan will flash between "DTC" and the fault code itself. the code will be 4 digits long. if you post your fault code/codes on here i will tell you what they mean

#103 Paul Rogers

Paul Rogers

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kent

Posted 05 March 2012 - 01:02 PM

the fault code is an easy spot. not sure what number in the secuence it is but they show like this..... 0001 that would mean you have one fault code the very next screan will flash between "DTC" and the fault code itself. the code will be 4 digits long. if you post your fault code/codes on here i will tell you what they mean


i have got code D041 and D123 plus i'm having problems with my speedo dropping to 0 and straight back again or staying at zero for a awhile before going back to correct speed no other gauges are affected could this be the VSS?

#104 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,728 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 05 March 2012 - 03:48 PM

Yes, very likely.
For the price of one and a new seating pin off eBay and an hour wriggling the old one out, you'd just as well do it.
Dealers / garages will charge the earth for that job.

#105 Bass Junkie

Bass Junkie

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Name: Gordon
  • Ford Model: Focus Flight 3 dr
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 13 May 2013 - 07:39 PM

Hello all, 

 

For DTC help please find the following link 

 

http://www.eobd2.eu/DTCL.asp

 

select FORD, then enter your DTC code. Should be one letter followed by 4 numbers, however your dash may not show the proper code. 

 

For instance if the code shown is P117, enter it as P0117 and it will give you what the error is. P0117 is  Engine Coolant Temperature Circuit Low Input.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users