Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Focus 'steptronic' Auto Box Modes

Pip

Hello everyone, newbie here!

I bought a Focus estate a few months back, which is equipped with an auto box that you can also change manually (a la steptronic - not sure what the Ford name is for it?!).

The car was a finance repossesion, so did not come with a manual. In every other auto box car I've driven there has been a snow mode, or some method of forcing the box to start in a higher gear than first. However, as much as I search I can't find a way of making this one do it. As soon as you come to anywhere near a standstill, even in 'manual' mode, it selects first. Obviously this is not a problem for the moment, but come winter, how do I do this should I ever need to?

Cheers

Pip

Hi Pip

i have a mondeo auto & if you put it in "steptronic" you can select second gear to pull away (try shifting up while stationary)

tom

Hello everyone, newbie here!

I bought a Focus estate a few months back, which is equipped with an auto box that you can also change manually (a la steptronic - not sure what the Ford name is for it?!).

The car was a finance repossesion, so did not come with a manual. In every other auto box car I've driven there has been a snow mode, or some method of forcing the box to start in a higher gear than first. However, as much as I search I can't find a way of making this one do it. As soon as you come to anywhere near a standstill, even in 'manual' mode, it selects first. Obviously this is not a problem for the moment, but come winter, how do I do this should I ever need to?

Cheers

Pip

Hi,

I guess it's a 7-speed CVT gearbox. It's true that it does not feature a snow mode but when you manually select the gear to 2, it allows you to have a smooth start n icy/snowy roads.

Hi,

I guess it's a 7-speed CVT gearbox. It's true that it does not feature a snow mode but when you manually select the gear to 2, it allows you to have a smooth start n icy/snowy roads.