14 replies to this topic

#1 sparticus5

sparticus5

Feet Under The Table

• PipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Ford Model: 2010 Fiesta Zetec S 1.6Ti-VCT

Posted 16 September 2010 - 09:29 AM

Is anyone disappointed with their gear change in the mk7 petrol?

The gear change action itself is fine, it's the ratio's I have a problem with - I can't believe Ford haven't spaced them out more or added a 6th gear.

I've only been driving my car a few weeks but I'm struggling to see what 2nd and 3rd gear is for in the Fiesta. Not only will my car quite happily run and pull away in 4th at 30mph, it'll quite happily sit in 5th at 30mph on the flat and is torquey enough to still accelerate without complaint (albeit rather slowly). Yet at 70mph the car is running around 3500 revs?

I'm no engineer but I'm always wanting to change down a gear at anything over 60mph.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 james_60

james_60

Too much time on the boards

• FOC Supporters
  • 977 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: 2013 Focus Titanium X 1.6TDCI 115BHP
  • Year: 2013

Posted 16 September 2010 - 11:46 AM

Hi sparticus.

I agree with you.

For motorway cruising 5th gear is too high (ie the gear ratio should be altered so that 5th does not require the engine to be turning so fast)

Jamie

#3 Jordan ZS

Jordan ZS

Feet Under The Table

• PipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7 Zetec-S
Posted 17 September 2010 - 08:46 AM

at 6k revs in second i hit 60mph so its silly how in 5th doing 70 its 3.5k.. think of the better economy figures we'd be getting if it was 2.5 or even 2k at 70mph.

#4 fryboi

fryboi

Feet Under The Table

• PipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Ford Model: mk 7 1.4 zetec

Posted 17 September 2010 - 08:52 AM

if you drive at 50mph in 5th gear you will get worse MPG than if you were going 60mph. try it. I think ford know what their doing by now guys.

#5 coysht

coysht

Feet Under The Table

• PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts