Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Clunking Noise From Front

mick88

Hello All

Fiesta has been behaving well until lately

When turning the steering to straight ahead after turning when reversing I get a clunking noise from the front, steering is quiet at all other time's, is this just the norm for the electric steering system as i've no experience of it or is it a characteristic of the Mk7 fezza :D

Thank's in advance

Sounds like the strut bearing. The strut bearings job is to twist the suspension strut when the wheel turns, when it goes bad, you rotate the wheel to straight ahead and the suspension coil doesn't twist back with it, so when the strut turns the clunk sound is the strut rotating but the coil staying in the same position. Hard to explain but hope I have done so adequately.

Thanks jmurray01 for your reply

Was told could be the top strut mounting, is this the same thing. Just strange that I get it only when reversing but not at all when driving

Will book a date with Ford for a look at it

Thanks jmurray01 for your reply

Was told could be the top strut mounting, is this the same thing. Just strange that I get it only when reversing but not at all when driving

Will book a date with Ford for a look at it

yes, although i would say the mounting 'holds' the bearing within it but yes that is what they are talking about.

iv got this problem as well. started after about 14000 miles. only happens in slow speed manouvoures usinf full lock. Took it to Ford who lubricated the steering column, the problem still persists though.

iv got this problem as well. started after about 14000 miles. only happens in slow speed manouvoures usinf full lock. Took it to Ford who lubricated the steering column, the problem still persists though.

only time ive ever come across it is on older cars, after a few years of being blasted by water and salt, the bearing dries up.

i would have said it was unusual on such a new car but then, who knows these days.