Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Mark 2, Hatchback, Very Low Fuel Economy - Help!

Deano_2010

Hello everyone. newbie here..lol

I have had a Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi for 2 years now which is 5 years old. Over the last few months I have noticed a terrible decrease in its performance. I am currently getting around 400 miles for the entire tank (driving the say way as usual) and the car does not seem to be able to move off as quickly as it used to.

Now, I admit, I have yet to service the car since I got it, which i should have done. I brought the car to a local garage who told me it needs serviced, but said it will not fix the problem. he believes that getting around 400 miles per tank shows a problem far greater than a service would fix.

Does anyone here have any ideas what else could be causing this? I know very little about cars and do know want to put the car into a garage without an idea of what may cause this. The last thing I want is to replace parts that are fine.

Thanks,

Hello everyone. newbie here..lol

I have had a Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi for 2 years now which is 5 years old. Over the last few months I have noticed a terrible decrease in its performance. I am currently getting around 400 miles for the entire tank (driving the say way as usual) and the car does not seem to be able to move off as quickly as it used to.

Now, I admit, I have yet to service the car since I got it, which i should have done. I brought the car to a local garage who told me it needs serviced, but said it will not fix the problem. he believes that getting around 400 miles per tank shows a problem far greater than a service would fix.

Does anyone here have any ideas what else could be causing this? I know very little about cars and do know want to put the car into a garage without an idea of what may cause this. The last thing I want is to replace parts that are fine.

Thanks,

This is an Irish joke isn't it, I'm right aren't I?