Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cruise Control: Is It Possible To Retro Fit?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 eco-paul

eco-paul

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Econetic
  • Location: West Midlands

Posted 12 November 2010 - 05:10 PM

Hi,

Happy owner of an econetic fiesta here.

I brough mine nearly new, and it the original owner had been busy ticking the options boxes, it has front and rear parking sensors, bluetooth, usb curatain airbags, heated screen and centre armrest. It has everything I want, except cruise control. I have had it retro fitted to my old VW and it was just a case of a new indicator stalk and some programming, I know the fiesta will require a new steering wheel, but hopefully re-use the airbag.

Does anyone know if its possible using ford parts, and if so how much? Or is it possible with some sort of aftermarket kit?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Lez

Lez

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Name: Laszlo
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.4 TDCi
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 26 November 2010 - 11:05 PM

Hi, it could be possible to do, i looking to do it too, i bought the steering wheel swich with the silver frame, but need some wiring to do to the ECU,and program the ECU. unfortunetli the Haynes still do not have the new fiesta Guide on the market...

#3 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,627 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 February 2011 - 11:16 AM

Just bumping an old thread
I've bought a Titanium steering wheel for my Zetec-S
Am taking it to a guy to try and program it on Monday - will update you with the results!

#4 mikester

mikester

    Drive it like a Granny

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2011 - 11:55 AM

Nath- my hero

#5 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,627 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 February 2011 - 12:02 PM

Nath- my hero


If it works I'll cruise past Tamworth at 70 without touching the pedals :P

#6 mikester

mikester

    Drive it like a Granny

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2011 - 12:12 PM

is economy gonna be better?

What if it don't work? :(

#7 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,627 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 26 February 2011 - 01:28 PM

is economy gonna be better?


Hope so - should be travelling at constant speed instead of gradually slowing down and wasting fuel getting back up to 70

What if it don't work? :(


I cry

#8 michmash/eddie

michmash/eddie

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: Kent

Posted 26 February 2011 - 02:41 PM

will be interesting to see if it works

#9 routy22

routy22

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: fiesta titanium

Posted 26 February 2011 - 05:20 PM

Hope so - should be travelling at constant speed instead of gradually slowing down and wasting fuel getting back up to 70



I cry


It deffinatly increases Mpg, i can never match the mpg to cruise control with my foot and stay at a constant speeed, just hope it works for ya's

#10 mikester

mikester

    Drive it like a Granny

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 660 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Location:

Posted 26 February 2011 - 09:07 PM

fingers crossed for you nath. if I'm at home feel free to come by for a tea/coffee pit stop

:)

#11 james_60

james_60

    Too much time on the boards

  • FOC Supporters
  • 976 posts
  • Name: Jamie
  • Ford Model: 2013 Focus Titanium X 1.6TDCI 115BHP
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 26 February 2011 - 09:43 PM

If this works i can buy my s1600 134 and fit cruise control myself.

In my opinion it should be an option for the zetec s and s1600

Jamie

#12 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,627 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 28 February 2011 - 09:39 PM

Just to let everyone know - had the Titanium controls & silver surround installed today. When the mechanic lugged his laptop in there was an option for almost everything except cruise control. Not quite sure whether a new BCM or ECU is required or just reflash the software. Writing to Ford Technical to see what they can advise.

#13 mark t

mark t

    Local Rep: Yorkshire

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • Name: Mark
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 1.6L EcoBoost SCTi
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 28 February 2011 - 09:50 PM

Fingers crossed, I'm not doing the distance these days, due to the fuel cost, but when I do, I love the cruise control.
Constantly driving at the same speed will do your MPG a lot of good!

#14 Strutter

Strutter

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 444 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk7 Titanuim Dress Up Kit, 17s

Posted 01 March 2011 - 11:35 PM

Glad I jsut got a Titanium with the larger engine now lol.

#15 bneeco

bneeco

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Mk7 Zetec s TDCI
  • Location: Kent

Posted 03 March 2011 - 10:06 PM

the ecu's for 1.6's are all the same, i went to ford dealers and asked what would be needed their reply was "new ecu" asked how much and they said mines the same one as titanium with cruise control then they looked baffled and then said dont know and pretty much tried being unhelpful saying i should of bought it when i got the car in which i replied i bought it 2 months old to save money,

ford technical are just unhelpful ****'s, if they dont "recomend" it they wont tell you if its possible and whats needed to be changed or done

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users