Jump to content


Photo

Focus 05 Wipers Not Working


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 luckyman

luckyman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 16lx

Posted 04 December 2010 - 12:39 PM

Hi folks can anyone help my 05 focus front wipers have stopped working my wife left them on ,i went out to start it up but they were frozen when i started and defrosted they would not work,the water pump wprks and also the rear wipers,when i move the arm for the front wipers i hear a click coming from the fuse board below the glove compartment i dont have a manual but think fuse number 55 is the wipers i have changed it but they still dont work any one have a diagram of the fuse board as theres no diagram on it any help much appreciated

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 H3lly

H3lly

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Name: k
  • Ford Model: Mk1 Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Dublin

Posted 04 December 2010 - 03:55 PM

There might be damage to the wiper linkages or the wiper motor. If you tried to operate them whilst they where frozen it can cause them to burn out. There is power going to them if you can hear the relay clicking.

#3 tommy.h

tommy.h

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 251 posts
  • Name: tom
  • Ford Model: mondeo 2.0 diesel mk4
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 04 December 2010 - 04:37 PM

Hi Luckyman

this any good? attached.
bearing in mind this is for 1998 - 2005 model.

tom

Attached Thumbnails

  • img028.jpg
  • img029.jpg


#4 luckyman

luckyman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 16lx

Posted 04 December 2010 - 06:17 PM

Thank you both for the excellent advise it is now sorted turned out to be fuse number 50 on the board below the glove box

THANX

#5 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,791 posts
  • Name: Stefan
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 04 December 2010 - 08:06 PM

the mk2 focus seem to have a thing for fuses? my brothers mk2 has went through about 3 or 4 as far as i know, its also had some of the wiring replaced due to a fault. what rating is the fuse?

#6 luckyman

luckyman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: focus 16lx

Posted 06 December 2010 - 01:37 PM

hi the fuse is a 20 amp but ive stuck a 30 amp in and it works so i'll leave it until/if it blows again ha ha ha

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users