Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Confused, Water Pump Knackered, Smokey Exhaust

nikkob

Hope someone has an idea on this.

Noticed quite a bit of white smoke coming out of exhaust of our 2002 Focus 1.8 ghia (55000 miles), I checked coolant and oil, coolant was low and oil looked fine - no milky/creamy deposits.

There was also a rattling coming from the side of the engine.

A mechanic has had a look at it, his diagnosis is the water pump is on its way out (rattling noise) and he pointed out where the coolant was leaking from - where the water pump meets the engine I think (i am no mechanic).

He thought the engine sounded fine and the exhaust might just be condensation.

He is going to replace the water pump, the cam belt (as this has never been changed), the fan belt and give the car a service.

Could the white smoke coming from the exhaust be linked to the knackered/leaky water pump?

Hi Nikkob

white "smoke" coming from the exhaust in this weather we have been having is probably nothing more than condensation "steam"which is just showing up because of the cold (have a look at some other cars theirs will be pretty much the same).

as for water pump you will have to take the mechanics word for it.

but it does sound from what you say that this is the problem.

tom

Hope someone has an idea on this.

Noticed quite a bit of white smoke coming out of exhaust of our 2002 Focus 1.8 ghia (55000 miles), I checked coolant and oil, coolant was low and oil looked fine - no milky/creamy deposits.

There was also a rattling coming from the side of the engine.

A mechanic has had a look at it, his diagnosis is the water pump is on its way out (rattling noise) and he pointed out where the coolant was leaking from - where the water pump meets the engine I think (i am no mechanic).

He thought the engine sounded fine and the exhaust might just be condensation.