Jump to content


Show
Photo

How Can I Tell If Have A Dpf Fitted To My Focus?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 13 February 2011 - 04:22 PM

Hi Guys,

Probably a stupid question which has a simple answer..............how can i tell for certain if my 2.0TDCI 2005 Focus Saloon Titanium has a DPF?? isnt clear in the owners manual. Im guessing it most probably has?

Version: Series 40
Engine: 2.0L Duratorq-TDCi (136PS) - DW10
Transmission: 6 Speed Manual Transaxle - MMT6
Emission: 2000 EEC (EEC 7)

cheers,

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 14 February 2011 - 01:14 AM

apparently its only the 1.8tdci engine that doesnt have a dpf or additive the others in the series do...along with the dreaded DMF!

#3 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 14 February 2011 - 09:35 AM

dam so mine will definatly have one. Nothing wrong with it as yet.....but i know im gona have issues with this at some point. where is the DPF located?

#4 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 14 February 2011 - 10:19 AM

from what i have been told it is connected to the same bit as the cat converted...as in it splits in two, one side has cat other has DPF. but from what i have been told on other sites, you can clean the DPF instead of replacing as they (ford) will just give you a cleaned refurbed one anyways. there is another thread on the focus side of this forum regarding this and has links to guides (for peugeot- but should be similar).

#5 Karlos

Karlos

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 TDCi - Remapped

Posted 15 February 2011 - 10:02 AM

dam so mine will definatly have one. Nothing wrong with it as yet.....but i know im gona have issues with this at some point. where is the DPF located?


I have the 2.0 TDCi Titanium, but mine is an '07 plate. I do not have a DPF on mine, which is a bit of a bonus. I doubt yours would have one either tbh.

One fairly obvious way to check - when you drive along at night and accelerate from around 1500rpm through the 2000rpm area under load/in a fairly high gear, if you see a bit of smoke behind you in following car's headlights, then you probably don't have a DPF.

#6 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 15 February 2011 - 01:34 PM

I have the 2.0 TDCi Titanium, but mine is an '07 plate. I do not have a DPF on mine, which is a bit of a bonus. I doubt yours would have one either tbh.

One fairly obvious way to check - when you drive along at night and accelerate from around 1500rpm through the 2000rpm area under load/in a fairly high gear, if you see a bit of smoke behind you in following car's headlights, then you probably don't have a DPF.



hmmm, how do you know for sure you havnt got one Karlos? JohnH suggested that it was only the 1.8TDCI MK2's that didnt have DPF's fitted. As yet i havnt had a chance to look under my car to see if there is something resembling a DPF around the Cat converter area as its dark when i get up to leave for work and dark when i get home:-( gona have a look at weekend to try and finally work out if i have one! Cant believe its this hard to work out if my car has one fitted. cos its quite a major part. Is there something in the engine bay i can look out for which will indicate wether i have one??

On my way home tonight i will try out your suggestion of accelerating hard between 1500rpm and 2000rpm to see if i can see any noticable smoke. Im praying i havnt got a DPF fitted as they sound like a !Removed! nightmare when they go wrong.

#7 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 15 February 2011 - 01:49 PM

its only what i have been told, so i could be wrong about the 1.8TDCI engine being the only one.

to check to see if you have a DPF would be to take of the catalitic converter and have a look for the filter. to check to see if you have the additive tank, just look under your car at the fuel tank and a smaller tank will be located there filled with eolys fluid or such like. i dont think nothing in the engine bay will point this out.

#8 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 15 February 2011 - 01:50 PM

an easier method, would be to write down your VIN and Reg, phone your local ford dealership and ask them...they will tell you in a matter of minutes if you have one fitted or not. lol

#9 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 15 February 2011 - 04:26 PM

an easier method, would be to write down your VIN and Reg, phone your local ford dealership and ask them...they will tell you in a matter of minutes if you have one fitted or not. lol



Hi John,

I have now emailed Ford as didnt get a chance to phone during my lunch break! hopefully they will reply swiftly. if not will phone em. Will also try and have a look under my car to see if can see eolys fluid tank next to main fuel tank. thanks for all the suggestions guys:-)

#10 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 15 February 2011 - 04:34 PM

no worries...also you can have one and not the other aswell as both...such as you can have a dpf and no additive tank...if that makes sense, so i wouldnt assume you dont have a dpf if you dont see the tank.

hopefully this will be usefull for you.

#11 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 15 February 2011 - 05:06 PM

ok.....wont assume i havnt got one if dont see tank then John.

nothing we dont already know but thought id include the link anyway.... http://www.theaa.com...te-filters.html

#12 Mooresey

Mooresey

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCI
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 15 February 2011 - 07:59 PM

Do you have to fill up for the additive to be added or can you just put as much as you like in and it will add it?

#13 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 15 February 2011 - 11:12 PM

from what i understand is the car measures how much fuel is in the tank to begin with (before filling), measures how much fuel you have added, calculates how much additive is needed and adds it. it uses minute amount....apparently 1 litre can get you 40k miles (motorway driving as main) or so i am told.

hope that helps you

#14 APJ

APJ

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 217 posts
  • Ford Model: 2005 Ford Focus 2.0TDCI Titanium

Posted 16 February 2011 - 12:44 PM

Will a light come on on my dash if the Eolys needs topping up?

p.s still awating confirmation from Ford as to wether my Focus was fitted with a DPF when it was first built

#15 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 15,377 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 16 February 2011 - 02:36 PM

No Lights I dont believe, unless the system reports a malfunction...

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users