Jump to content


Show
Photo

Red Battery Light


  • Please log in to reply
110 replies to this topic

#91 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 26 May 2011 - 05:57 PM

sorry was sleeping loads trying to get my sleeping pattern sorted. its been predicted it will go cyber, but by cyber i mean the likes of drones instead of the human input (pilot) which is where it is now pretty much with UAVs.

yeah i put my papers in the bosses wernt to happy like...they will be wondering why 3 off us, pretty much from training have gone there and left. but they say it will take 6 months, but if i have a letter of offer of employment i can get out earlier, they are aware of the current climate but they are not struggling as people go to forces as its a guarenteed job with security.

i have plenty of videos on my phone, of what me and my colleagues get up to in our spare time. my mates say they are hilarous and quite sad at the same time.

even if they did do video diaries, they will still be censored like mad. but its funny the under 18's get meetings every 2 weeks for welfare and they all say "its like a prison" i know coz i even said it, but after 9 months of basic training i went a little nuts and said "i love it and want to stay" and laughed at a new lad who said "its like a prison" i didnt stay, they pushed me through to get rid, pretty much let me do what i wanted. :lol:

yeah some tools in the IT techy side are ridiculus on what they can do, i like the fibre fault finder, measures where the snap in the wire is. a good one i found was if you ring 17070 on a bt land line...can find out a bit of info on that ;)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#92 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,496 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:09 AM

Sounds alright! and I heard from mates in the forces that if you get out early, you have to repay the training costs? so hopefully they wont send you a bill through the post!

I have to say though

its a guarenteed job with security

Guaranteed for as long you can avoid the enemy!

Good ol' techtools!

Good luck to you though! hopefully if you can get into civvy street sooner rather than later, some normality may be restored!

#93 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 29 May 2011 - 08:42 PM

nah they wont bill me for the training costs, the way the RAF do it is, once you have completed basic trade training or hit a certain date in your employment under the crown, you are stuck for 4 years unless you get discharged for say failing a fitness test 3 times or any other criminal acts. myself had wierd dates due to fracturing my tibias and heel (in both legs) in basic training so when i hit my date i was finishing basic training starting trade...that was 4 years ago this december.

but there is a rule saying if i have a letter of offer of employment they can let me but its up to manning to decide.

yeah i hope i can gain some normality back, mind you i worked at currys soon as i finished school for 9 months and went to join raf...so i didnt get the full feel of civvy life.

#94 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,051 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 22 June 2012 - 08:36 PM

john I seem to be having a very similar problem if not the same one with my dads 2006 focus 1.8tdci

Basically the alternator appeared to be pumping out nothing, and when the engine is running im getting 11.5v.

changed the alternator and im getting 13.5v with the 3 pin connector on and 14v with it off! so there is something not right with the ecu/smart charge

is the wiring harness for this available seperately or is it a main engine harness job? guessing they just spliced your wiring?

#95 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 22 June 2012 - 11:25 PM

hey,

the harness is part of the entire engine harness, so alot of money. best bet is to find the break and resolder. im not too sure on what ford did but i bet they just resoldered.

places to look from memory is the tie where the 3 pin connector is held and in the wheel arch near ecu.

#96 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,051 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 23 June 2012 - 06:16 AM

hey,

the harness is part of the entire engine harness, so alot of money. best bet is to find the break and resolder. im not too sure on what ford did but i bet they just resoldered.

places to look from memory is the tie where the 3 pin connector is held and in the wheel arch near ecu.


thanks john,

in the wheel arch, presumably behind the plastic liner?

#97 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 24 June 2012 - 01:04 AM

yeah as mentioned in your other thread. right near ecu

#98 Davebrundle

Davebrundle

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Transit 2001 100ps
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:41 PM

Hi sorry to add to an old post but I now have this problem and need advice . I will start at the start . Ok the bearing in alternator been going bad for about a year . I changed it last week because the bearing noise was driving me mad . It was still working ok . Just the bearings . Also the battery was old and getting low . 4 days ago battery wouldn't start the van so I went to parto and got new battery . All was good untill today . I went out and all was good . Went to go out again 20 mins later and the battery light was on . Bright red no flickering . Locked on . Tried revving engine and light still on . So I checked alternator 3 wire plug . Cleaned it and put back . Started van and still on . So put multimeter on battery . 12.6v started van and then got 13.6v . I watched multimeter and put lights on full and blower on full . It stayed 13.6v revved van and still 13.6v . I have done 1000 miles on new alternator and about 300 on new battery . The battery partco sold me is a normal lead acid battery . I've just read that they not recommended . How and what do I check . Could the battery have fried the smart charge ? Or possible broken wire .? I'm no good with a multimeter and electrics so could someone explain what tests and how please . I just havnt got the money spare to take to garage . And if its still charging can I just ignore the light . Would more damage be caused by my battery if I carried on using it ? . If the battery fried the smart charge would it mean a new ecu ? Help please

#99 Davebrundle

Davebrundle

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Transit 2001 100ps
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:47 PM

Sorry forgot to say its a transit 2001 100 ps on the above thread

#100 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,051 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 25 December 2012 - 12:01 AM

as you already know mate a standard lead acide is no good for the smart charge system, it should be a silver or calcium type.

not sure if the battery can cause damage to the ecu or not though

#101 Davebrundle

Davebrundle

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Transit 2001 100ps
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 25 December 2012 - 12:06 AM

Am I right in thinking the smart charge is controlled by the main ecu so if the smart charge is fried then it's a no repair and buy a new ecu ?

#102 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,051 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 25 December 2012 - 01:24 AM

Am I right in thinking the smart charge is controlled by the main ecu so if the smart charge is fried then it's a no repair and buy a new ecu ?


from the hassle i had with my dads 2006 focus, yes that is correct unfortunately

#103 Davebrundle

Davebrundle

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Transit 2001 100ps
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 25 December 2012 - 09:24 AM

Well I've got the answer . I'm going yo unplug and have battery 14 v during the winter and I will pug it in and take out battery bulb in the summer . Don't think my 1000 transit will get a new 1000 ecu . Happy days.

#104 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 14,975 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 25 December 2012 - 12:07 PM

Removing the bulb is not advisable as a non working dash warning light is an MOT failure.

#105 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,051 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 27 December 2012 - 02:12 AM

Removing the bulb is not advisable as a non working dash warning light is an MOT failure.


At present the battery light illuminated will not fail an mot - we have not long since had my dads car mot'd and they said it was not an issue

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users