Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Fiesta flame 54 plate cd player!!


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 zoe1987

zoe1987

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame
  • Location:

Posted 27 October 2008 - 08:23 PM

Hi I need a bit of help!! New to the website so posted this on the wrong section before!!! The standard cd player in my car is in two parts and the gaps are too small to fit a new head unit in. I've had a looked at the facial and it is completley moulded around so cant really replace that. Is there any way around fitting a new head unit without drilling holes in the plastic in the car?? Really confused!!! :unsure:

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

#2 samuel peeps

samuel peeps

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk 5

Posted 29 October 2008 - 09:00 AM

Hi I need a bit of help!! New to the website so posted this on the wrong section before!!! The standard cd player in my car is in two parts and the gaps are too small to fit a new head unit in. I've had a looked at the facial and it is completley moulded around so cant really replace that. Is there any way around fitting a new head unit without drilling holes in the plastic in the car?? Really confused!!! :unsure:



hello there. you can get around it if you really dont want to cut your dash. you can buy a new facial from fords i think it is around 50 and you just replace it with your one. the new one will have 2 slots one for your new head unit and one just to use as storage. it will look a lot tidier. dont forget you will also need the adapters to fit your new head unit dont think there the same and think they are around 15. hope this helps!

#3 Tomas

Tomas

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location:

Posted 29 October 2008 - 09:03 PM

Hey

If your CD player is the same as mine then its got 3 "sections" which are all actually connected to make the one unit.

To get my head unit installed, I had to cut through the wee strips of plastic, remove the CD player then put a facia in its place.

I went to a local car audio shop to do this who charged me roughly 65 for the complete install inc. the new facia.

I'd recommend getting it done by a professional unless you know what you're doing. I think places like Halfords etc even do the job.

Hope this helps.

Tomas

#4 samuel peeps

samuel peeps

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk 5

Posted 30 October 2008 - 08:35 AM

Hey

If your CD player is the same as mine then its got 3 "sections" which are all actually connected to make the one unit.

To get my head unit installed, I had to cut through the wee strips of plastic, remove the CD player then put a facia in its place.

I went to a local car audio shop to do this who charged me roughly 65 for the complete install inc. the new facia.

I'd recommend getting it done by a professional unless you know what you're doing. I think places like Halfords etc even do the job.

Hope this helps.

Tomas



hi ya mate. ya that is a good way to do it but ford also sell a new trim with the space already there. might be more money though. how you finding your fiesta?

#5 zoe1987

zoe1987

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame
  • Location:

Posted 30 October 2008 - 09:06 AM

Hi, thanks for the replies think I might try ford first see how much they'l charge to do it. Thanks again u'v both been a big help!! :D

#6 zoe1987

zoe1987

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Flame
  • Location:

Posted 30 October 2008 - 07:49 PM

hello there. you can get around it if you really dont want to cut your dash. you can buy a new facial from fords i think it is around 50 and you just replace it with your one. the new one will have 2 slots one for your new head unit and one just to use as storage. it will look a lot tidier. dont forget you will also need the adapters to fit your new head unit dont think there the same and think they are around 15. hope this helps!



hey have u got this in ur car can u add a pic so i can see at all?? thanks

#7 aztecbandit1

aztecbandit1

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Ford Model: Nissan Skyline R33 GT-T :-)
  • Location:

Posted 31 October 2008 - 11:39 PM

or you can buy the fascia adapter from Halfords or ebay for a bit less money than from ford :)

#8 samuel peeps

samuel peeps

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk 5

Posted 07 November 2008 - 01:17 PM

hey have u got this in ur car can u add a pic so i can see at all?? thanks

hello. no sorry didint do it in the end. but look in to it in deltail. have seen fiestas with it done and it does look smart.

#9 tam5225

tam5225

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Ford Model: fiesta
  • Location:

Posted 19 March 2009 - 08:28 PM

hi ya mate. ya that is a good way to do it but ford also sell a new trim with the space already there. might be more money though. how you finding your fiesta?



where do you buy the trim ur talking about?


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users