Jump to content


Show
Photo

Speedo Not Working


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 rendernaut

rendernaut

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 02

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:55 PM

Hello, My speedo has been a bit flakey lately where is would just suddenly drop to 0 for a while then pick itself back up. Now it seems as though it doesn't want to work at all. The digital trip counter is also not incrementing neither are the miles.

Is there anyway I can fix this?

Regards,
Andrew

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 H3lly

H3lly

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Name: k
  • Ford Model: Mk1 Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Dublin

Posted 11 March 2011 - 02:26 PM

Could be the vehicle speed sensor, it's on the rear of the gearbox and a cheap item to replace but awkward to install. It could also the the instrument cluster as there is no milage being displayed. Best to get dtc codes read before doing anything.Cluster$(KGrHqV,!iEE1KWBWJvdBNdhrZ0K)w~~_12.JPG Speed sensor!BUL3zeQ!mk~$(KGrHgoOKiQEjlLmVz3(BKMQ0v4P0!~~_12.JPG

#3 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,197 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 March 2011 - 02:30 PM

Sounds like an issue with the entire instrument cluster. By the looks of your profile, you have a MK1, which I believe had known issues on the instrument cluster! check for any DTC codes, otherwise you may have to visit a dealer.

#4 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 11 March 2011 - 03:06 PM

yeah i heard the same regarding the mk1 focus instrument cluster problem...apparently from what i have read ford dealers are selling new and revised ones for 99, obv that was a while back so they could of changed.

from the same reading i have seen that if you carry out the instrument cluster self diagnoses (a pinned topic on this forum) it will help...if it does a gauge sweep its ok, but if not your busted.

i could be wrong, but like i say, its what i have read on several focus forums.

#5 mjt

mjt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Ford Model: 03 Focus Mk1.5 Estate 1.8 TDCi Ghia

Posted 11 March 2011 - 04:36 PM

My Mk1 had the exact same problem as yours. Only the speedo was affected, everything else worked. It had a new VSS and instrument cluster which failed to fix it. It was eventually traced to the VSS cable chafing on the gear linkage, so before you go shelling out s for new parts it's worth checking that first.

From what I remember the known problem with the instrument cluster, which was highlighted in the Watchdog programme, affected the whole cluster, all the gauges froze as well as the speedo.

#6 bt_cav

bt_cav

    Feet Under The Table

  • FOC Supporters
  • 330 posts
  • Name: Brian
  • Ford Model: focus
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Lanarkshire

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:49 PM

sure I read somewhere a quick fix all be it short term is to give the back of the clocks a spray with wd40 :huh:

#7 MrRedman

MrRedman

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: focus 2002
  • Year: 2002
  • Location:

Posted 12 March 2011 - 08:29 PM

try the vvs first as its a cheaper repair let the garage do it as they are known to snap in the gearbox this was the fix for mine.The radio volume went lower also the car did not run smoothly whilst the speedo was not working.

#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,197 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 14 March 2011 - 08:14 AM

try the vvs first as its a cheaper repair let the garage do it as they are known to snap in the gearbox this was the fix for mine.The radio volume went lower also the car did not run smoothly whilst the speedo was not working.


Yeah, the Automatic Volume Levelling is the giveaway with this, because its linked directly to the VSS, this may be the one thing we can give to Ford, at least its a (fairly) easy diagnosis if the VSS goes!

#9 rendernaut

rendernaut

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 02

Posted 15 March 2011 - 09:48 AM

try the vvs first as its a cheaper repair let the garage do it as they are known to snap in the gearbox this was the fix for mine.The radio volume went lower also the car did not run smoothly whilst the speedo was not working.


I've had the same problem with the volume and smooth running at low revs.

I will check the vvs. Thank you!

#10 rendernaut

rendernaut

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 02

Posted 15 March 2011 - 06:21 PM

I've had the same problem with the volume and smooth running at low revs.

I will check the vvs. Thank you!


I have just checked the dash using the diagnosis procedure in the sticky. All the dials work fine and the MPH speed reads correct (when the speedometer works) When the speedo drops to 0 so does the digital dial, does this indicate a problem with the VSS?

How much am I looking at to get the VSS looked at and fixed?

Also my check engine light came on this morning (bottom left amber one). related?

#11 IceDiesel

IceDiesel

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TD Di

Posted 02 May 2011 - 10:38 AM

From what I remember the known problem with the instrument cluster, which was highlighted in the Watchdog programme, affected the whole cluster, all the gauges froze as well as the speedo

Had this on my 03 plate - as Ford knew about it the replacement cost me 120 compared to the 400+ that it could have done! Also with mine all the warning lights flashed and looked pretty cool even if it was scary x

#12 Wightman

Wightman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 18 July 2011 - 06:13 PM

I have just developed a problem with my 2003 Focus Mk1 Instrument Cluster.
The lights work but the gauges work intermittently.
The info here is helpful but I have a couple of questions, what are the VSS and the WS and where do I find the info on the diagnostic test.
I read on another website about holding in the reset button (I assume this is the trip meter reset button) and turning on the ignition.
Is this the test?
When I do this there is no readout on the odometer.
Can anyone help?

#13 mjt

mjt

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Ford Model: 03 Focus Mk1.5 Estate 1.8 TDCi Ghia

Posted 18 July 2011 - 07:20 PM

I don't know about WS but VSS = Vehicle Speed Sensor.

#14 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,197 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 19 July 2011 - 07:01 AM

WS as in ws, could just be misinterpreted as capitals V V S together looks like VVS which at first glance could could be WS.

#15 Wightman

Wightman

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Rob
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 19 July 2011 - 08:35 PM

Thanks Mike and Jebowhite. That looks like the correct interpretation.

I found a fix on another forum for the instrument cluster problem. It seems that it is related to damp on the pcb.
I'm not sure how long the fix will work for................... but it does work.
Remove the trim from around the cluster. There are 4 or 5 posidrive screws at the top. The bottom is held by push in studs.
It is a bit tricky to get these out without scratching the cluster front!
There are 4 screws holding the cluster in place, remove these and swing the cluster round.
The white connector on the back has a black locking lever (it's difficult to see how this works).
Pull the lever away from the direction of the cables, over the little block. As this moves it will help push the connecor free.
On the back of the cluster are 2 torx screws and some plastic loops. Remove these and remove the back to expose the pcb.
Spray the pcb with WD40, I used a small brush to spread it over the back and clean the board.
I put the unit in the airing cupbaord overnight, fitted it in the morning and found that it was OK.
If it doesn't work for long it will be easy to replace it, they seem to be available new on the net for about 60.
Better than paying Ford main dealer silly prices! :)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users