Jump to content


Photo

Ecu Reset


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 28 April 2011 - 06:37 PM

Hi All,

My car description is on the left.

I am thinking of doing an ECU reset this weekend to retrain the air/fuel ratio of the car. I know the procedure (disconnect the battery for 10 to 15 min). Here are my questions:

1. Will this erase any updates Ford has applied/installed on my ecu?
2. Any other issues I need to know about.


Thanx

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 29 April 2011 - 07:12 AM

From my understanding (I suggest second opinions) the updates are applied as "firmware" which are hard written into the ECU. what you are resetting is purely the "short term memory" of the ECU. When you do the reset, the car starts afresh, looks at how hard your putting your foot down, the general driving practices, and fluctuates the air / fuel ratios. so it will not remove any updates Ford have applied.

As for other issues, there arent any. I used to do this regularly on my Focus (description below) and never had any problems but always saw an improvement in MPG.

#3 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 30 April 2011 - 09:02 AM

After I have reconnected the battery terminals after around 20 min I noticed the following:

1. The clock and preset stations were not lost (the radio did ask for code though)
2. Everything on the car computer was lost except for the trip mileage (the one that can be reset)

Is that normal behaviour?

#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 01 May 2011 - 09:34 AM

It is because you are resetting its "short term memory" - that includes the resettable odometer, average MPG, and range estimations etc.

The radio does always ask for the code after a reset, this is incase some theiving wretch takes your radio away - they have to disconnect it from the battery so it prompts for the code. It has its own long term memory inside, which is where the Radio code, and the radio settings / features / presets are all saved.

The actual features of the trip computer will not have been lost (I hope anyway??) just the values that it was at previously. so if you reset the car with a reset ODO reading of 120 miles it will not say that the ODO is 0.0

#5 starfield

starfield

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 171 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.8 zetec, Mark II, petrol (manu 56 reg)

Posted 01 May 2011 - 05:38 PM

When I did the ECU reset it had V-Power in the tank (3rd consecutive tank). I take it that when the reset was done it had adjusted my driving style, air/fuel ratio, etc according to what the car has in the tank. If I am to fill up with regular unleaded will it cause any problems?

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 03 May 2011 - 08:07 AM

Yes and No, Yes the engine will adjust to what it is using - higher grade fuels will require less injection, and will still give optimum performance. obviosuly a higher premium fuel will have benefits, and will improve the drive, however filling up with a different grade of fuel (be it shell standard, or tesco's own unleaded) will not cause any problems.

as silly as this sounds - think of it as getting drunk.

You buy a high price bottle of wine with a high alcohol content. You may only need to drink one bottle and you can be as drunk as if you bought the corner shops budget 0.001% cider. Only difference is, you would have had to drink a lot more cider than you did the wine.

You dont have any problems, as your hangover will still be a hangover regardless...

#7 andysvision

andysvision

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Name: Andi
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: London

Posted 03 October 2013 - 09:10 PM

Yes and No, Yes the engine will adjust to what it is using - higher grade fuels will require less injection, and will still give optimum performance. obviosuly a higher premium fuel will have benefits, and will improve the drive, however filling up with a different grade of fuel (be it shell standard, or tesco's own unleaded) will not cause any problems.

as silly as this sounds - think of it as getting drunk.

You buy a high price bottle of wine with a high alcohol content. You may only need to drink one bottle and you can be as drunk as if you bought the corner shops budget 0.001% cider. Only difference is, you would have had to drink a lot more cider than you did the wine.

You dont have any problems, as your hangover will still be a hangover regardless...

 

Hei PRO can you explain me what steps do i have to use after i reset the ECU so i get the full power again?So you tell is imposible that an ECU looses its program ever?Than why we have to make upgrade to FORD dealer?My friend went to FORD dealer and they told him that his ECU was formated and it needid programing...LOL are they making the thief?They just want money?What you think?Thanks



#8 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 04 October 2013 - 04:16 PM

wow, that sounds like a true pack of bull if I ever heard it! the ECU could be fried (electrical short circuit,destroying a chip) this would require a new ECU. Also it could be overwritten by an OBD connection with a wrong piece of software, or it could theoretically be formatted, but you would need to be seriously messing about with it. If he hasnt touched it though, it sounds like a fast buck to me,

 

Anyway, once you reset the ECU, you just need to drive it as you want to for the rest of its life, do this for three or four tanks. Drive like a granny and you will get more MPG, drive like an F1 driver, and you will get a bit more response from it.



#9 andysvision

andysvision

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Name: Andi
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: London

Posted 04 October 2013 - 08:17 PM

wow, that sounds like a true pack of bull if I ever heard it! the ECU could be fried (electrical short circuit,destroying a chip) this would require a new ECU. Also it could be overwritten by an OBD connection with a wrong piece of software, or it could theoretically be formatted, but you would need to be seriously messing about with it. If he hasnt touched it though, it sounds like a fast buck to me,

 

Anyway, once you reset the ECU, you just need to drive it as you want to for the rest of its life, do this for three or four tanks. Drive like a granny and you will get more MPG, drive like an F1 driver, and you will get a bit more response from it.

yes i think this too,becous i never done anything to overwritte it with OBD becouse i have used only OBD reader for DTC never tryed to write anything.what do you mean wtih "it could theoretically be formatted" how is it posible?You say to do it for three or four tanks,what do you mean i reset ecu every 3-4 tanks?Or i keep on driving like grany for about 3-4 tanks for ecu to learn it?Thanks :)



#10 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 08 October 2013 - 03:19 PM

my comment on three or four tanks, is how long it will take your ECU to adjust to your driving style and respond accordingly to support this.

 

As for the format, any chip can be formatted or wiped clean with an electrical current in the wrong place, at the wrong voltage, at the wrong time.

 

Shorting out two pins on a chip could theoretically wipe out the contents of the ROM chip, so it can be done by electrical current, or could be wiped via software.



#11 andysvision

andysvision

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Name: Andi
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: London

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:06 PM

my comment on three or four tanks, is how long it will take your ECU to adjust to your driving style and respond accordingly to support this.

 

As for the format, any chip can be formatted or wiped clean with an electrical current in the wrong place, at the wrong voltage, at the wrong time.

 

Shorting out two pins on a chip could theoretically wipe out the contents of the ROM chip, so it can be done by electrical current, or could be wiped via software.

i see.So what do you think may this have hapened when i changed the alternator?Maby i got a wrong one?I have posted a thread about my alternator but no one is giving any opinion :/



#12 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,112 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2013 - 04:02 PM

I really couldnt say I am afraid. I doubt the chip is formatted though...



#13 andysvision

andysvision

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Name: Andi
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0 TDCi
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: London

Posted 10 October 2013 - 04:19 PM

I really couldnt say I am afraid. I doubt the chip is formatted though...

i see .Thansk PRO




Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users