Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Sony Audio System Problem

ceeveepee

Hi all, newbie here so wasn't sure whether to post this here or in the audio section.

I got my Fiesta Zetec Blue with the Sony Audio System (with bluetooth and voice control) back in July and it seems to have an intermittent fault on it that the dealership are stuggling to deal with. Just wondered if any one has any ideas or experience on what could be the problem I've looked around on google but can't seem to find anything similar.

The radio is meant to go into standby mode when the car door is opened and then turn to radio when the ignition is started. Very often it doesn't. The problem seems to manifest itself in a few different ways:

i) Unlock car, radio display does not go into standby mode showing date or time or change to radio once ignition is turned on. Driving any distance does not affect this at all. Using the on /off button also does not make any difference. Radio is still dead when I lock the car and leave it.

ii) As above but sometimes when arriving at destination and opening door to exit car, the radio display suddenly goes into standby mode showing time and date.

iii) As above but radio comes on and starts playing after I get out of the car and I have to turn if off manually.

iv) Unlock car, radio does not go into standby mode or turn to radio when ignition turned on, but will switch on randomly within first one to two hundred metres driven. If it hasn't come on within about 200 metres then it won't come on at all until at least after I get out of the car

The car has been back to the dealership four times.

First of all they replaced the radio - problem still exists.

Secondly, they disconnected the battery for a couple of hours to reboot the system - problem still exists.