Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Vss - Speed Sensor


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 gwilym

gwilym

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk6 2003
  • Location:

Posted 11 May 2011 - 03:09 PM

I need to change the speed sensor on my Fiesta Mk 6, I have a replacement but with no workshop manual can anyone tell me where exactly the VSS is located. I had a cursory look and it wasn't obvious, better still a photo would be great as a `picture paints a thousand words

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 GothicRebel

GothicRebel

    Rogue Southerner Lost in Sheffield

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Name: Andy
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium Black
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 11 May 2011 - 03:33 PM

I need to change the speed sensor on my Fiesta Mk 6, I have a replacement but with no workshop manual can anyone tell me where exactly the VSS is located. I had a cursory look and it wasn't obvious, better still a photo would be great as a `picture paints a thousand words


Haynes Manual 20 all you'll eva need to know

#3 Dan62

Dan62

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: London
Contributor

Posted 11 May 2011 - 04:55 PM

\



#4 gwilym

gwilym

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk6 2003
  • Location:

Posted 13 May 2011 - 08:26 AM

How infuriating, I can't find the location of the VSS on my Fiesta 2002 mk6 and furthermore, I can't find anywhere on the internet to give step by step instructions on how to replace it. i intend to buy a haynes manual but living in Spain it will take time for it to arrive. Has anyone done this VSS replacement who would be willing to give me some tips? I don't want to start removing unnecessary things.

#5 Dan62

Dan62

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: London
Contributor

Posted 13 May 2011 - 09:03 AM

\



#6 gwilym

gwilym

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk6 2003
  • Location:

Posted 13 May 2011 - 12:05 PM

thanks Dan, point taken. Will get a few things out of the way and see if I can see it, it isn't an ABS model. How would ABS mean that a VSS is not fitted?

#7 Dan62

Dan62

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Location: London
Contributor

Posted 13 May 2011 - 01:04 PM

\



#8 gwilym

gwilym

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta mk6 2003
  • Location:

Posted 13 May 2011 - 01:15 PM

Hi Dan ureka, I have found it now I have the age old problem (apparently) of withdrawing the pin. There appears to be a metal plate over the front, does the pin withdarw throught that, if so what is the best method of withdrawal. (said the actress etc)

#9 digidash

digidash

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Ford Model: cougar
  • Year: 2014
  • Location:

Posted 17 May 2011 - 10:41 PM

Hi Dan ureka, I have found it now I have the age old problem (apparently) of withdrawing the pin. There appears to be a metal plate over the front, does the pin withdarw throught that, if so what is the best method of withdrawal. (said the actress etc)


not always sensor tsb says check resistence between pin 1 and 2. (1=volts feed 2=sig out 3=ground) should be 1.5 kohms 5%. sure ford released a pcm update for vss faults, regards steve

#10 nigel129

nigel129

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: 52 Fiesta Lx 1.3 petro

Posted 28 January 2013 - 04:27 PM

Hi in case my thread started/posted here isnt hitting a wide audience, can someone help with my posts ?
http://www.fordowner...ro/#entry219799
nigel

#11 govangrower

govangrower

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: robert
  • Ford Model: ford fiesta zetec
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 17 June 2014 - 11:50 PM

sensor is on top of the gearbox in front of the passenger side, space is limited and its difficult to get the pin and the sensor out, and after replacing the sensor you have to drive for at least 5 miles before the speedo starts working again, they dont tell you that in the manual.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users