Jump to content


Photo

Stop Lamp Bulb Fault


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 gazzamills

gazzamills

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: gary
  • Ford Model: smax 2.5t
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Berkshire

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:10 PM

HI all

i have recently purchased a 2.5t smax which i am very happy with. but the last couple of days i have a problem with the lower brake lights..... they dont work, the upper light appears to be fine. On the computer it gives me the message that states' stop lamp bulb fault' . I have checked the manual and it says one or both brake bulbs need changing, i have changed both, although i think they were ok but with no joy.Inside the car down by the brake pedal there does appear to be a lead with a small plug hanging, but i cannot see where this plug has come disconnected from, if at all.

Would appreciate some feedback guys and lasses if possible.

Gazza

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 digidash

digidash

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Ford Model: cougar
  • Year: 2014
  • Location:

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:00 PM

hi, see below...common fault

Should a customer express concern that the warning message <STOP LAMPS BULB FAULT> is displayed on the instrument cluster, the probable cause is the load resistor wiring detached completely at the end of the ceramic body.

To rectify the concern, a new wiring loom for the high mounted stoplamp should be installed.

1. Remove the high mounted stoplamp (two screws).




2. Remove the upper part of the liftgate trim panel.

3. Locate and cut the high mounted stoplamp wiring loom.

Close the tailgate.
Remove and discard the high mounted stoplamp wiring loom.






4. Install a new high mounted stoplamp wiring loom.

Open the tailgate.
Cut off the electrical connector of the spare part.
Make sure that the grommet is installed correctly.









5. Remove the insulation at the cable ends.




6. Insert the stripped ends of the wires into the solder crimp connector (see Parts Required).




7. Crimp the connection.




8. CAUTION: Do NOT damage any surrounding wiring.

Using a hot air gun, heat the shrink sleeving.

Using tape (see Parts Required) to insulate the repair area.

9. Install all remaining parts in reverse order.

10. Check the functionality of the high mounted stoplamp.

regards steve

#3 robin993

robin993

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: robin
  • Ford Model: s max 2.0 tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Essex

Posted 17 February 2015 - 03:24 PM

Hi Please go gentle on me.
I have just purchased a sensible family Ford S max and am going through a few jobs to get it all ship shape for me. The high level brake light is not working and is dislaying an error on the dash. I have replaced the Bulb and no luck. i have 10.5v at the bulb with the bulb out and brake light on, when i fit the bulb it drops to 0v. i have checked the loom back to the body and it is all fine, the flexi part is fine... ideas please?

Thanks

Robin



#4 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 19,760 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 20 February 2015 - 12:26 PM

have you got the right bulb or a non faulty bulb? If the voltage is dropping its being shorted out somewhere?



#5 robin993

robin993

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: robin
  • Ford Model: s max 2.0 tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Essex

Posted 20 February 2015 - 04:56 PM

Hi All

thanks for your help, I dropped into the ford dealer, picked up a bulb, fitted it...  no joy. the n as suggested disconnected the battery, and joy it works. i had the radio code. interestingly the new bulb from ford was physically bigger in the size of the glass surrounding the filament than the one that had blown and the cheap replacement. 

 

I have never needed help changing a lightbulb before.. complicated things these cars!.

 

thanks again. now just the clutch to sort out.. 



#6 theredfox

theredfox

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: c- max
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Sligo

Posted 20 February 2015 - 05:02 PM

what problems is your clutch giving you?

paul



#7 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 19,760 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 20 February 2015 - 07:49 PM

Not heard that one before lol unplug the car and the bulb starts working again lol.

Is the clutch worn down?

#8 robin993

robin993

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: robin
  • Ford Model: s max 2.0 tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Essex

Posted 23 February 2015 - 10:15 AM

Yep, the clutch is slipping when under full load. 



#9 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 19,760 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 23 February 2015 - 10:48 AM

Never a fun move

#10 747777

747777

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: S-Max
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 26 February 2015 - 04:33 PM

Not heard that one before lol unplug the car and the bulb starts working again lol.
Is the clutch worn down?

Actually, its working the way it should.

The stop lights are not fused, but monitored and protected by its fault monitoring circuit, which may trip up with out of spec, e.g. off the shelf generic bulbs.

A battery reset resets the circuit.

#11 Shorty1

Shorty1

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Mal
  • Ford Model: S Max
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon

Posted 16 March 2015 - 07:36 PM

I had this stop lamp issue too.

The problem I found is that most people replace the brake bulb with a 501 capless, this is only 5watts.

The correct bulb is a w16w 921 bulb which is 16w this has sorted out the issue.

If you try the brake light with a 501 it flickers and then stops, turn ignition of on it then repeats the flicker and off.

If yuo use the higher wattage bulb as per the owners manual it will sort the issue :-)



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users