Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Disable Esp On 5Dr Zetec 1.6 Tdci


  • Please log in to reply
183 replies to this topic

#1 DumboBattyhead

DumboBattyhead

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 06 June 2011 - 11:34 AM

I have an 09/2011 Zetec 1.6 TDCi which has ESP as standard and a card holder in the place where the Zetec S has an ESP switch. I have no other switches present in that blanking plate (sorry, I should say "very useful card holder").

Does anyone know if my car can have its ESP disabled when necessary by fitting an ESP switch? Getting hold of a replacement ESP switch for a Zetec S is not too difficult but I don't know if the non-S version has the necessary wiring & programming present.

I work in the peak district and I want to get this sorted before the next bad snow arrives.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,569 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 02:44 PM

I've got a feeling it may be possible - I think I read somewhere on this forum that someone had done it.

They best way of checking to to move that panel (lift up gear gaitor surround then you can remove silver panel around buttons) and check if wiring is already there. If so get a scrapyard or partsgateway.com to send you the switch :)

#3 Tato

Tato

    Ford Enthusiast

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Name: Tato
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6 Duratec Ti-VCT
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 June 2011 - 06:13 PM

By the way, are the Titanium ones coming with the button?

#4 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 8,747 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 07:02 PM

Does anyone know if my car can have its ESP disabled when necessary by fitting an ESP switch? Getting hold of a replacement ESP switch for a Zetec S is not too difficult but I don't know if the non-S version has the necessary wiring & programming present.

I work in the peak district and I want to get this sorted before the next bad snow arrives.



I have a 2010 focus 1.6TDCI and the ESP can be switched off via the controls for the screen inthe centre between the rev and Speedo gauges, turn the ignition once (not engine running) and cycle through the menu ESP should be there and set it to off, only problem is you have to switch it off every time you start the car as it automatically re-activates every time you turn off the engine, I suffered all last winter with it on, not knowing how to switch it off AAAGGGHHHH!!!:o

Posted Image

#5 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,569 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 07:22 PM

By the way, are the Titanium ones coming with the button?


No

#6 Tato

Tato

    Ford Enthusiast

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Name: Tato
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6 Duratec Ti-VCT
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 June 2011 - 07:57 PM

No


I could ask "why not Ford"?

#7 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 8,747 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 08:03 PM

I could ask "why not Ford"?


I agree,

as your the owner of your car, you paid for it you should be in control, if you want wheel spin without over ride you should easily be able to have it, done my head in last winter ESP caused me to skid more than ever,

#8 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,569 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 08:34 PM

Sorry to stir things up but I have the ESP switch and I have never used it. Why? Because in the winter I used winter tyres and my wheels never slipped. Best 300 (250 tyres + 50 rims) I've ever spent.

People think it's more expensive but going through 1 set of tyres in 12 months over 2 years = 2 sets of tyres or 2 sets of tyres used for 6 months alternatively (Apr-Sep / Oct-Mar) over 2 years still equals 2 sets! The only additional outlay are the wheels (which in my case I found someone on Gumtree with Fiesta Style that he had put alloys on and was selling his steel wheels for 50)

#9 DumboBattyhead

DumboBattyhead

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 06 June 2011 - 08:59 PM

I've got a feeling it may be possible - I think I read somewhere on this forum that someone had done it.They best way of checking to to move that panel (lift up gear gaitor surround then you can remove silver panel around buttons) and check if wiring is already there. If so get a scrapyard or partsgateway.com to send you the switch :)

Thanks for the ideas guys, I'll be trying them tomorow when I get time.

@ iNath (do stir, it's fun), I take the point about never using the ESP switch, but I don't intend to get snow tyres & sometimes its just plain fun to get the wheels spinning on a hill with patchy snow so that when the tyres do grip in places, there is plenty of wheel momentum to get the car up the hill. Also its good from time to time to go into a corner too fast with too much thottle so that the car does lose it. What better way to get the feel of how to recover from a skid at a time when it is safe to have a play.

#10 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 8,747 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 06 June 2011 - 09:15 PM

Thanks for the ideas guys, I'll be trying them tomorow when I get time.

@ iNath (do stir, it's fun), I take the point about never using the ESP switch, but I don't intend to get snow tyres & sometimes its just plain fun to get the wheels spinning on a hill with patchy snow so that when the tyres do grip in places, there is plenty of wheel momentum to get the car up the hill. Also its good from time to time to go into a corner too fast with too much thottle so that the car does lose it. What better way to get the feel of how to recover from a skid at a time when it is safe to have a play.


E-bay is great for front bumpers and rear quater panels when youve had yor fun lol :lol:

#11 DumboBattyhead

DumboBattyhead

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 06 June 2011 - 09:28 PM

E-bay is great for front bumpers and rear quater panels when youve had yor fun lol :lol:

Well I'm not going to get cocky & say "I'll not crash", that would be the kiss of death!

#12 Tato

Tato

    Ford Enthusiast

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Name: Tato
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Titanium 1.6 Duratec Ti-VCT
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 06 June 2011 - 09:57 PM

I agree,

as your the owner of your car, you paid for it you should be in control, if you want wheel spin without over ride you should easily be able to have it, done my head in last winter ESP caused me to skid more than ever,


Well...I guess I will just have to live with it now...
It's good that I don't have so bad winter where I will drive the car :D

#13 DumboBattyhead

DumboBattyhead

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 08 June 2011 - 05:56 AM

I have a 2010 focus 1.6TDCI and the ESP can be switched off via the controls for the screen inthe centre between the rev and Speedo gauges, turn the ignition once (not enginerunning) and cycle through the menu ESP should be there and set it to off,

I presume you mean using the left hand steering column stick end button? This is what cycles through trip, MPG, etc for me.

But for me, no ESP menu :(. Does the main ignition key have to be in a certain position for the ESP menu to appear?

#14 DumboBattyhead

DumboBattyhead

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Name: paul
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Derbyshire

Posted 08 June 2011 - 05:58 AM

They best way of checking to to move that panel (lift up gear gaitor surround then you can remove silver panel around buttons) and check if wiring is already there. If so get a scrapyard or partsgateway.com to send you the switch :)

I'm still working on this one, but I have not yet managed to get anything removed. Which bit of the gear gaitor pulls off first?

#15 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,569 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 08 June 2011 - 07:04 AM

I'm still working on this one, but I have not yet managed to get anything removed. Which bit of the gear gaitor pulls off first?


Pull up the bit closest you (ie. in the plastic below 2,4,R)

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users