Jump to content


Photo

Convers+


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 GelpMan

GelpMan

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Ford Model: S-Max
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 20 June 2011 - 05:37 PM

Is it posible to change the original instrument panel (speedometer thingy) to convers+? Would be a nice uppgrade to my 2007 S-Max.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 21 June 2011 - 01:13 PM

Yes it's been done before. Straight swap apparently.

#3 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 27 June 2011 - 09:52 PM

Just to add - I tried this yesterday with a Convers+ panel from a Mondeo and it does indeed just plug in & work. The only caveat is that you have to get the mileage corrected at a Ford dealer.

#4 Nuno Umbelino

Nuno Umbelino

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Ford Model: S-MAX 1.8 2006

Posted 08 August 2011 - 09:00 PM

Just to add - I tried this yesterday with a Convers+ panel from a Mondeo and it does indeed just plug in & work. The only caveat is that you have to get the mileage corrected at a Ford dealer.


Hello.
I bought one of these Convers+ panel. But now how to take out the old panel? Is it easy to do or is it better for Ford to do it?
Thanks for your help! :D

#5 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 09 August 2011 - 08:33 AM

Very easy - lever down the lower plastic fasica panel above the steering column and you will expose two torx screws. Undo these, then use a knife or thin flatblade screwdriver and lever out the cluster from the top (behind there is a clip which you need to lever down - then the cluster will slide out).
Unplug the wiring loom (1 plug) - push into new cluster then slide that back in - pop the screws back and you're done. 5 min job.

#6 Nuno Umbelino

Nuno Umbelino

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Ford Model: S-MAX 1.8 2006

Posted 09 August 2011 - 03:50 PM

Very easy - lever down the lower plastic fasica panel above the steering column and you will expose two torx screws. Undo these, then use a knife or thin flatblade screwdriver and lever out the cluster from the top (behind there is a clip which you need to lever down - then the cluster will slide out).
Unplug the wiring loom (1 plug) - push into new cluster then slide that back in - pop the screws back and you're done. 5 min job.

Thanks for replying!
I still haven't received the panel yet but as soon as I have it, I will give it a try. :)
Regarding mileage, there is no other chance then to correct it at Ford, right?

#7 Nuno Umbelino

Nuno Umbelino

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Ford Model: S-MAX 1.8 2006

Posted 09 August 2011 - 05:42 PM

Very easy - lever down the lower plastic fasica panel above the steering column and you will expose two torx screws. Undo these, then use a knife or thin flatblade screwdriver and lever out the cluster from the top (behind there is a clip which you need to lever down - then the cluster will slide out).
Unplug the wiring loom (1 plug) - push into new cluster then slide that back in - pop the screws back and you're done. 5 min job.


Just tried to lever down the lower fascia but it didn't move... :(
Is there any special trick? You just push it down or you push it towards you?
Thanks again!

#8 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 10 August 2011 - 07:54 AM

Assuming you're referring to the plastic fascia below the cluster (above the steering column) then pull it firmly toward you, it will bend in the middle (don't worry about that it's quite flexible).

#9 RR7

RR7

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: S-Max Titanium 2.5T
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 24 September 2011 - 09:25 PM

i'm also planning on doing this upgrade to me 2006 s-max 2.5T

i know the unit is different on the petrol and diesel models, but is the petrol version common across the range? also, is there a part number for the the convers+?

#10 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 26 September 2011 - 08:21 AM

You just need to ensure it's got the same scales - i.e. 8000 RPM and 160MPH.

#11 RR7

RR7

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: S-Max Titanium 2.5T
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 28 September 2011 - 08:50 PM

cool, thanks.

dont suppose anyone has the part number for the mph petrol version? only part number i found was the KPH one :\

#12 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 29 September 2011 - 07:57 AM

Taken from the back of my unit:
7M2T-10849-BF

#13 RR7

RR7

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: S-Max Titanium 2.5T
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Essex

Posted 29 September 2011 - 08:35 PM

thats very helpful, thanks alot :)

#14 andthen

andthen

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Name: mike
  • Ford Model: mk4 mondeo zetec with sports pack
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Lincolnshire

Posted 04 October 2011 - 09:02 PM

howdy guys....

maybe you guys could answer a question for me....

is there a usb port somewhere on the convers+ unit ????, as i have the unit in my mondeo but no usb port in the glove box...

#15 137699

137699

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Ford Model: 2006 S-max Titanium X Sport 2.5T

Posted 05 October 2011 - 10:43 AM

Nope. To implement the USB port you need to upgrade the bluetooth module in the car to the later version & buy the additional wiring looms.
The USB wires to the bluetooth module, which in turn wires to the radio headunit.
You also need a radio with a sufficient firmware version to support the new bluetooth module & USB connection.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users