Jump to content


Show
Photo

ST170 engine light on but no fault code


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Defender9

Defender9

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus ST170
  • Location:

Posted 21 December 2008 - 09:01 PM

I wondered if anyone knows why my engine light is still on ?.

I have done the test and there is no fault codes showing but the light still remains on.

Anyone have any clues?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,463 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 22 December 2008 - 01:26 PM

the fault might have not stored itself, reset the light and see if it returns.

#3 Defender9

Defender9

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus ST170
  • Location:

Posted 22 December 2008 - 02:51 PM

Thanks for that but how do you reset the light as i'm new to these, I'm normally a land rover man.
Cheers.

#4 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,463 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:27 PM

if you remove fuse 26 for about 30mins this should reset the ecu and probubly the light with it, if this fails it will have to be cleared with a code reader.

#5 Defender9

Defender9

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus ST170
  • Location:

Posted 22 December 2008 - 08:13 PM

Thanks for that, I'll try it and let you know.

#6 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 23 December 2008 - 05:18 PM

Thanks for that, I'll try it and let you know.


Worth bearing in mind, the dash trick doesnt always store ECU fault codes. Best bet is to get a proper code read done. I had an airbag light on and no dash dTC code on my focus TDi. Got my breakdown company out (free code read as Ford wanted 70) as I wasnt at home and didnt want an airbag in my face. Turned out there was a fault code on the ECU even though it didnt show on the dash interface.

#7 Defender9

Defender9

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus ST170
  • Location:

Posted 23 December 2008 - 07:14 PM

Thats good to know, I'll give that a try after Christmas,
Did they tell you the fault and did they fix it?
Many thanks.

#8 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 24 December 2008 - 11:08 AM

Thats good to know, I'll give that a try after Christmas,
Did they tell you the fault and did they fix it?
Many thanks.


Yep, airbag control module faulty or switched off and no they didnt fix it. 140 for part from Ford plus labour to fit it and programme it to the car.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users