Jump to content


Photo

Which pin is constant power?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 slugster

slugster

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location:

Posted 29 December 2008 - 01:39 PM

Hi...

Do any of you know which pin on the std Mondeo radio wiring is the constant power?

I've replaced my busted 6000 with a nice Sony head unit I used to have in the last car. But it's not retaining the settings once it's powered off and I think it's missing the constant power feed.

I've used a Halfords Ford to std radio wiring conversion loom and want to check it's cross connected.

Many thanks in advance for any replies

Slugs...

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,161 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 29 December 2008 - 11:00 PM

Hi...

Do any of you know which pin on the std Mondeo radio wiring is the constant power?

I've replaced my busted 6000 with a nice Sony head unit I used to have in the last car. But it's not retaining the settings once it's powered off and I think it's missing the constant power feed.

I've used a Halfords Ford to std radio wiring conversion loom and want to check it's cross connected.

Many thanks in advance for any replies

Slugs...


Should have the usual heavier 'red and yellow' wires going to the cd player with bullet connectors in the middle of them? If you can recognise the bit of the loom im talking about, just switch the red to the yellow and the yellow to the red. so you have to mixed cables going to the cd player. One of them is a permanent live and the other is live with ignition. not sure if ive explained that clearly enough though? get back to me if you need anymore help

#3 slugster

slugster

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location:

Posted 31 December 2008 - 04:43 PM

Hi Stef123,

Your answer made perfect sense and I finally got around to trying it - but no joy.

I did some internet digging and found this pin information

Power connector
pin1 live 12v memory supply orange/black
pin2 ground black/green
pin3 ignition 12v supply blue/black
pin4 12v illumination supply orange/black
pin5 alarm connection black/orange (may not be used)
pin6 ground black/green

Speaker connector
pin1 white/black left front
pin2 grey/black left front
pin3 white/violet left rear
pin4 grey/white left rear
pin5 white/red right front
pin6 grey/red right front
pin7 white right rear
pin8 grey right rear

So I got the multi meter out and checked the power ones and they were bang on (colours were different though) EXCEPT for the pin 1 memory supply. This was only supplying about .6 volts

So I hooked up the old Ford unit and that didn't work either???

Guessing that the units need ignition AND memory power I cross connected ignition power to memory power and hey presto the Ford unit worked as long as the ignition was on (good job as I could get the CD out LOL). And then the Sony one worked as well.

But now I need to figure out why pin 1 isn't supplying 12v

I guess the cable might be damaged and the .6v reading I'm getting might just be trace volts but now I'm getting puzzled :blink:

Any ideas anybody?

#4 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 31 December 2008 - 08:40 PM

Fuse blown?

#5 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,161 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 31 December 2008 - 10:23 PM

Fuse blown?



yep that was my thinking, have you checked this? the 0.6v may just be an innacurracy with the meter.

#6 slugster

slugster

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location:

Posted 01 January 2009 - 10:29 AM

You are both right gents...

F72 (20a) in the left hand footwell fusebox had blown. I must have shorted something when trying to get it working.

Thanks for helping out.

Cheers

BTW - it works fine with yellow to yellow and red to red. But it's interesting that on my old VW they were switched round.

#7 SierraYankee99

SierraYankee99

    Too much time on the boards

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Ford Model: Ford
  • Location:

Posted 01 January 2009 - 11:56 AM

You're welcome, sometimes its the obvious things we forget to check on modern technological cars. Glad its all sorted pal. Happy New Year

#8 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,161 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 01 January 2009 - 02:27 PM

excellent slugster! have a good new year.

#9 slugster

slugster

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Ford Model: Mondeo
  • Year: 2006
  • Location:

Posted 02 January 2009 - 08:24 AM

Happy new year to you both as well and to everybody on the board.

For a few seconds I did wonder if it might be a fuse, but everything else electrical seemed to be working so I thought there is no way there would be a dedicated fuse just for this and didn't think any more about that (stupid of me I know).

Only when I looked at the wiring schematic did I see how many bleeping fuses there were :o

So F72 feeds just this one pin on one connector and an optional navigation unit (which my LX doesn't have)

It's been a while since I did any electrical work on a car (Rover SD1 V8) and things have moved on a tad haven't they.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users