Jump to content


Photo

Key Remote Problems


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Maggsy

Maggsy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: c
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Ghia hatchback
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 14 September 2011 - 07:09 PM

IT'S THE 3 BUTTON REMOTE WITH KEY IN QUESTION.
SENT THE REMOTE PART OFF FOR REPAIR AS IT DIDNT WORK OR SO I THOUGHT.
RECIEVED IT BACK WITH NEW SWITCHES BUT IT STILL DOESNT WORK.
HAVE TRYED THE RE-SYNC - 0N OFF 4TIMES, CAR SOUNDS TO INDICATE READY. BUT WHEN I PRESS ONE OR ALL OF THE BUTTONS NOTHING WORKS,SUGGESTING IT DOESNT RECOGNIZE THE REMOTE.
ANY SUGGESTIONS GUYS??
THANKS!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 alz

alz

    Serial Poster

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 459 posts
  • Name: Alan
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus LX 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Worcestershire

Posted 15 September 2011 - 07:14 PM

it sounds like the chip as gone, if it as then you will need a new one, e-bay is your best bet.

#3 Maggsy

Maggsy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: c
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Ghia hatchback
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 15 September 2011 - 07:29 PM

when you say chip do you mean the immobiliser chip?
if so unlike other cars ive had there is no chip in the key half. either it has been lost or there isnt one,the key will start the car just the fob bit doesnt work?!
can i use another chip then?

#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,891 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 15 September 2011 - 07:43 PM

[quote name='Maggsy' timestamp='1316114355' post='144296']
when you say chip do you mean the immobiliser chip?
if so unlike other cars ive had there is no chip in the key half. either it has been lost or there isnt one,the key will start the car just the fob bit doesnt work?!
can i use another chip then?
[/quote

if you split the remote from the key and look at the remote there should be a small glass tube visible on the side youll only see the tip of it thats the transponder chip if its not syncing it may be the electronic board inside is damaged so a new fobs needed if you have a local scrapyard head there and look for a fob in the cars some still have them grab a few and rewplace the battery then try resync them or you can get one of these http://www.remotekey...ars/ford/#Ford1 33.70 cheaper than a new ford fob

#5 Maggsy

Maggsy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: c
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Ghia hatchback
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 15 September 2011 - 08:07 PM

ok thanks... so any 3 button fob connected to my key can resync to work as a remote for the locking on my car??

#6 catch

catch

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,304 posts
  • Ford Model: MK2.5 Focus 1.6 Titanium Petrol
  • Year: 2011
  • Location:

Posted 15 September 2011 - 10:44 PM

mine suddenly stopped working on the remote, so I thought, needs a new battery. Had one fit, tried the sync job, no dice. Went to ford dealer, guy from reception tried the sync job, no dice. Booked it in in the afternoon, went in with it and waited, reception guy came back with the key after handing it over to a mechanic..............job sorted and no charge made for putting it right.......what they did I don't know, but it obviously did not involve a new part being replaced.....so my advice would be, go to your local dealer and try your luck.

#7 Maggsy

Maggsy

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: c
  • Ford Model: 2.0 Ghia hatchback
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 20 September 2011 - 07:43 PM

gonna take the fob to a dealer the weekend see what they say...is there a fuse that controls anything that may need looking at?? just a thought

#8 dezwez

dezwez

    Dezwez

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,064 posts
  • Name: Derek
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 zetec mk 2.5
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Cambridgeshire

Posted 21 September 2011 - 03:56 PM

is your keys battery making good contact i had one like this :)

#9 Lenny

Lenny

    Retired Moderator

  • FOC Supporters
  • 11,103 posts
  • Name: Leonard
  • Ford Model: Focus ZetecS
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Ireland
Contributor

Posted 21 September 2011 - 06:07 PM

id recommend getting a price off e-Bay for the fob prior to ford taking the reins and handing you an invoice for a whole new key.
Your flip key has two electronic parts; I know this as I myself have purchased from e-bay a blank un-cut key saving myself more than 50 by not buying from Ford Dealers.

the flip part with the key blade,
the blade itself is laser cut, and only specialist cutters can perform this type of key cutting,
this part also has a Transponder chip which your ignition immobiliser ring, picks up on when you insert the key in to the ignition, allowing the car to start.

The bottom half of the key,
the bottom part of the key with the 3 buttons gets programmed as you have done yourself,

switching on and off the ignition,
this part operates independently from the upper half of the key so you can purchase and programme the lowe section of your key yourself,
saving you a fortune over fords prices I've found the New part you need Click Here its 15.00
or Click Here For 9.00 or New for 12.95 Click Here the key on that one is different but you only need the button half

I'm sure ford will be an awful lot more. For the same outcome

#10 kv100

kv100

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Ford Model: fusion
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 21 September 2011 - 06:30 PM

I had a similar problem with my fusion remote. My mate sent me to see his mate who had a device for testing key fobs. You just hold the key next to the device and press one of the buttons. If it is working, the device flashes. I was so impressed that I bought my own fob tester from Ebay. If you are interested, it's one of these. Fob Tester.If anyone in the Oldham area needs one testing then go to MAS on the far end of High Street in Shaw town centre. He tests them free of charge. Hope this helps.

Paul.

#11 stella123

stella123

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Name: Stella
  • Ford Model: Explorer
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 25 September 2011 - 04:17 PM

I had a similar problem with my fusion remote. My mate sent me to see his mate who had a device for testing key fobs. You just hold the key next to the device and press one of the buttons. If it is working, the device flashes. I was so impressed that I bought my own fob tester from Ebay. If you are interested, it's one of these. Fob Tester.If anyone in the Oldham area needs one testing then go to MAS on the far end of High Street in Shaw town centre. He tests them free of charge. Hope this helps.

Paul.


Thanks, it will definitely help me

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users