Jump to content


Photo

Heated Screen Only Works One Side


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cressws1

cressws1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 16 September 2011 - 10:07 AM

My Quickclear screen only works one side (passenger side) even after a new heated screen was fitted. I am under the impression this screen uses 1 fuse for the entire screen not one fuse for each side so I've ruled that out. Any ideas what else I need to be looking at?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 stef123

stef123

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Management
  • 5,756 posts
  • Name: Stef
  • Ford Model: Mondeo ST TDCI
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Scotland
Contributor

Posted 16 September 2011 - 11:33 AM

My Quickclear screen only works one side (passenger side) even after a new heated screen was fitted. I am under the impression this screen uses 1 fuse for the entire screen not one fuse for each side so I've ruled that out. Any ideas what else I need to be looking at?


im thinking it should have 2 fuses, heated windscreens use alot of power - probably fuses at 30amps per side or so.

#3 cressws1

cressws1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 16 September 2011 - 11:56 AM

Aparently there are two or three different screens for the mk1 focus, The one I have only uses 1 fuse.

The guy fitting the screen said something about the wiring loom becoming corroded or rusted because it is stored in a wet enviroment (behind the drivers wheel arch if what he said rings true)

Edit: Added image of the fusebox diagram in the engine bay. Only describes one 50A fuse for front heated screen.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMAG0044.jpg


#4 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 16 September 2011 - 03:54 PM

Aparently there are two or three different screens for the mk1 focus, The one I have only uses 1 fuse.

The guy fitting the screen said something about the wiring loom becoming corroded or rusted because it is stored in a wet enviroment (behind the drivers wheel arch if what he said rings true)

Edit: Added image of the fusebox diagram in the engine bay. Only describes one 50A fuse for front heated screen.


try the relay first if that doesnt work If you remove the wiper arms and the plastic surround at the base of the windscreen, you will expose the bottom of the screen and you will see two ribbon type connections either side of the screen. One of these will be broken. or water has gotten into a broken seal if it has the only option is to cut one off a car at the scrappy and solder it onto youre wiring as its part of the main loom youll need to heat shrink the wires and then tape them up to be sure while there tape arond the connector where both parts contact to prevent water from getting into it. this isnt gauranteed to work and some require new screens but its a cheap try before you get to that stage Capture.PNG

#5 cressws1

cressws1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 16 September 2011 - 03:59 PM

Can I pick up a relay from any motor factor or does it have to be ford? Also are they similar to fuses in cost?

Tried to get under that panel to have a look at the connector but dont have the tool to remove the wiper arms so will get one of those.

#6 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 16 September 2011 - 04:02 PM

Can I pick up a relay from any motor factor or does it have to be ford? Also are they similar to fuses in cost?

Tried to get under that panel to have a look at the connector but dont have the tool to remove the wiper arms so will get one of those.


best place to get them is from a scrappy that way you can pick up a few i put them in my pocket to be honest and say im there for summat else ford do them im sure they are around a tenner so scrappys is best

#7 cressws1

cressws1

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 252 posts
  • Name: Scott
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8
  • Year: 1999
  • Location: Nottinghamshire

Posted 21 September 2011 - 02:27 PM

Ive been and had a look today all the connections and wiring are like new. I sat outside doing the old "steamy kettle" test and I think that both sides DO work but the drivers side just takes longer to come on, Am I right in thinking that this would indicate the relay being the problem?

#8 artscot79

artscot79

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,892 posts
  • Name: arthur
  • Ford Model: focus mk2 ti-vct
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Fife

Posted 21 September 2011 - 08:00 PM

Ive been and had a look today all the connections and wiring are like new. I sat outside doing the old "steamy kettle" test and I think that both sides DO work but the drivers side just takes longer to come on, Am I right in thinking that this would indicate the relay being the problem?


not sure mate but its a cheap fix so worth a bash changing it

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users