Jump to content


Photo

05-08 Steering Wheel


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 10 October 2011 - 10:04 AM

Will a 2005 steering wheel fit a 2008 model ? Thanks in advance :) Richie.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,674 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 10 October 2011 - 12:49 PM

I believe the steering wheels are the same fit, as long as it fits the column. I believe the only changes were on the cosmetics of the car if your referring to the MK2 vs MK2.5, interior and exterior, but I am sure that the wheels are the same...

Any [particular reason your changing them if you dont mind my asking?

#3 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 10 October 2011 - 12:54 PM

That leads nicely on to my next question, can cruise be retrofitted / activated if i fit the wheel with the cruise buttons ? Did it on my OH's Passat B6 and was a doddle. New to the Ford scene, only purchased last Friday, so still feeling my way so to speak....:)

#4 jay1981

jay1981

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Focus Zetec 1.8 TDCI
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Devon

Posted 10 October 2011 - 01:18 PM

You could try changing the steering wheel for one with cruise control buttons and see if it works.

However, I would think that you would need a trip to your Ford dealer for the cruise control to be activated on the cars ECU

#5 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 10 October 2011 - 02:15 PM

Thats the plan, i hope. I went ahead and ordered the wheel from ebay, leather too, soo hopefully they can activate it.

#6 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 20,674 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 October 2011 - 12:34 PM

You have to bare in mind that albeit, you may have a button and activated on the ECU, however you need the components as well. you may have 2 of the three by the end of this...

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users