Jump to content


Show
Photo

Fitted New Dpf Myself, What Now?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Antifaith

Antifaith

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Callam
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 05 November 2011 - 09:03 PM

Hi, I have a 1.6 TDCi focus 05 - it had never had a DPF replacement and has done 123000 miles so I brought one off of ebay and fitted it today

However the DPF came with a warning that if I didnt follow the manufacturers ECU steps then the new DPF could be rendered useless within 30 miles as it will not regenerate, does this mean that I need to take it to a ford dealers and get them to reset the ECU? the Engine management light came on on Thursday but hasn't gone out yet?

Will it go out automatically? If I can just run the car without it being damaged I dont really care about the light I have no intention of selling it

I did the self diag trick found on these forums - the error code was Er0608, dt8510

Cheers

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 catch

catch

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,225 posts
  • Ford Model: MK2.5 Focus 1.6 Titanium Petrol
  • Year: 2011
  • Location:

Posted 06 November 2011 - 11:47 AM

You will need Eloys additive reservoir refill and the ECU reset.....unless your following a Find, Fit and Fooook strategy :rolleyes:

Off to cut down and fit a bath panel and stuff, so not about to answer any more questions. Enough info in the DPF link in my sig.

#3 johnH

johnH

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 1,091 posts
  • Name: John
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 Zetec 1.8 TDCI (Climate)
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Tyne and Wear
Contributor

Posted 06 November 2011 - 11:09 PM

as above, fill the fluid reservior. go to dealers and ask for a DPF mileage reset on both filter and fluid will cost an hours work

#4 Antifaith

Antifaith

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Callam
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 10:36 AM

as above, fill the fluid reservior. go to dealers and ask for a DPF mileage reset on both filter and fluid will cost an hours work


Ok awesome, I've been told I may need a forced regen on the DPF just to clear things out, or shall I just do this myself after the reset?

I had a go yesterday at topping up the eolys, which proved to be a pain in the !Removed! as the tube from the filling kit was far to short to get higher that the additive tank, and the lid kept leaking - so I may have a trip to B and Q tonight for some tubing, unless anyone knows any good tricks?

also in the Haynes manual, it talks about some magic trick with resetting the clocks for eolys fluid with the ignition and the fuel filler cap - could this also be a reset for the DPF? or is it just wishful thinking?

Cheers in advance for your advice

#5 Antifaith

Antifaith

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Callam
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:23 AM

I've recently replaced a nackered DPF on my 05 ford focus TDCi and topped it up with eolys oil - I've been told I need an ECU reset to make sure everything is working properly but the ford dealers have quoted me 90 to do this - surely it's a 30 second job?!! Any way I can do this without handing money over to them cunning stunts?!

Cheers

#6 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,098 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:26 AM

It will be the Labour charge for one hour , some decent garages will charge only for 30 minutes instead of the full hr , granted set up and rest would probably only take 20 minutes



#7 young fez

young fez

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Name: andrew
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.6tdci
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 12:46 PM

if your eml light or pcm on the dash was lit up it will be a main dealer job. if not i think you can reset it yourself i have a hayes manual and it tells you step by step how to do it.also i think somone has done a post on here before on how to reset it.hope this helps.

#8 catch

catch

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,225 posts
  • Ford Model: MK2.5 Focus 1.6 Titanium Petrol
  • Year: 2011
  • Location:

Posted 08 November 2011 - 01:12 PM

You already have a thread open on the subject, why for Fecks sake have you opened another!

A fortnight of you on the forums and the first page of threads on the Focus Club forum will have your bleeding moniker as thread starter on every one of them. :angry:

I for one will not reply to multiple threads on the same subject, and I suggest others do the same or else mayhem will follow.

Mods please merge this thread.

#9 Mark M.K

Mark M.K

    FOC Supporter

  • FOC Supporters
  • 1,467 posts
  • Ford Model: 1.6 Fiesta Titanium
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 02:11 PM

We have merged the two topics. But please in future, be more polite in your replies to other members.

#10 Antifaith

Antifaith

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Callam
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 03:08 PM

You already have a thread open on the subject, why for Fecks sake have you opened another!

A fortnight of you on the forums and the first page of threads on the Focus Club forum will have your bleeding moniker as thread starter on every one of them. :angry:

I for one will not reply to multiple threads on the same subject, and I suggest others do the same or else mayhem will follow.

Mods please merge this thread.


Who lit the wick on your tampon?

Yes the eml was on so it has to be a dealers job, I just don't think it should cost £90, glad I've got the whole lot done for £370 though instead of the £1200 the ford dealer quoted lol

Cheers for your advice

#11 catch

catch

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,225 posts
  • Ford Model: MK2.5 Focus 1.6 Titanium Petrol
  • Year: 2011
  • Location:

Posted 08 November 2011 - 04:43 PM

We have merged the two topics. But please in future, be more polite in your replies to other members.


Well as I don't suffer fools gladly, and can put my time to better use elsewhere I'll just change my tampon and begone then :ph34r:

Friends can keep in touch by email, wont be answering any PM's.

Besides COD MW3 is out :D

#12 young fez

young fez

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Name: andrew
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.6tdci
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 08 November 2011 - 11:57 PM

result then mate glad you sorted it,i have just had my dpf topped up for 100 including the reset. i found a local garage who had all the same software as the main dealer.if i just wanted the reset it would have cost 65.

#13 dreadz

dreadz

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Name: ade
  • Ford Model: focus 1.6 tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Lancashire

Posted 09 November 2011 - 09:09 AM

any chance of contac details for that garage pal? cheers

#14 Antifaith

Antifaith

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 47 posts
  • Name: Callam
  • Ford Model: Focus TDCi
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Warwickshire

Posted 09 November 2011 - 09:22 AM

^this.

I managed to download the ford IDS but then couldn't find anyone with a ford vcm - a wee bit sucky, otherwise I could've done the whole lot on the cheap

Oh, Battlefield 3 is way better than COD, you should try it catch

#15 young fez

young fez

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Name: andrew
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.6tdci
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 09 November 2011 - 10:26 AM

hi mate it was central car garage in doncaster but think it will be to far from you but give them a ring see what they say.surly there is a garage near you have a look on google for garages in warwickshire give them a ring,i think any garage that does a remappin service will have the software to reset the ecu.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users