Jump to content


Photo

Dash Display Problem - Fuel Gauge, Speedometer


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Lones555

Lones555

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: 1.6 Zetec Silver
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 24 November 2011 - 05:01 PM

Hi all,

I recently (last 2 days) have been having an issue with my dash display, all the lights etc come on but the speedometer, fuel gauge and temperature gauge to not activate, they stay on zero. What could be causing this problem? It is intermittent, sometimes turning engine off and back on again fixes it, sometimes I need to do it 10-15 times, sometimes i'll drive around for a few minutes, park up then do it and it works again. Do I have a bad connection somewhere or could the display just be freezing and just need to warm up a bit first? Its a 2002 Focus Zetec Silver.

Any suggestions would be great!

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...



Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,374 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3.5 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 24 November 2011 - 05:05 PM

Hi and welcome


In the Focus pinned section there is a topic guide on how todo a Dash test , take a read and see if it throws up any Error codes

#3 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 21,135 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 25 November 2011 - 01:28 PM

Judging by the year of manufacture, there is every possibility that your car may well have been part of the "faulty instrument cluster" clan. If memory serves correct it affected late MK1.5 and / or early MK2's, so I would advise you may end up needing a new cluster.

Start by checking the codes as Pree said, also this will confirm when the gauge sweep kicks in, if there is an error on the cluster, as the rest of the gauges may move, but not the problem parts...

#4 Lones555

Lones555

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: 1.6 Zetec Silver
  • Year: 2002
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 26 November 2011 - 10:24 PM

Hi and welcome


In the Focus pinned section there is a topic guide on how todo a Dash test , take a read and see if it throws up any Error codes


Thanks for the reply but I do not have a DTC code reader and my car did not come with the on-board computer display panel (bought 2nd hand). Unless the codes appear on the odomter/tripometer panel?

#5 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,374 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3.5 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2015
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 26 November 2011 - 10:30 PM

Yes i think they do , when you do the dash trick it runs through a series of tests , gauge sweep test and also any stored fault codes which if you write them down you can search them out , it works on most displays

P.S you don't need a code reader for this:

http://www.fordowner...d-secret-trick/


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users