Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Factory head unit failing to work on ignition alone


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 12:25 AM

Under startin the ignition the head unit fails to work/light up etc... if i press the power button....nothin, so the i turn the ignition off n plug a battery booster into the lighter socket, n have all control of lights on switches on the dash and then turn the ignition one settin n it lights up n spits out the tape n at this time all dash/gauge lights are lit.

But still i cannot get the headunit to work, plus i dont have the code but have just seekd tht out (7149 or 159 i believe) besides this if any body has a clue wats up with it would b of help as id like to make sure i works proply b4 i intend to sell it on and fit a new headunit and ice install!

chrz all


Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 tunne1rat

tunne1rat

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Suffolk
Contributor

Posted 13 January 2009 - 08:50 AM

Under startin the ignition the head unit fails to work/light up etc... if i press the power button....nothin, so the i turn the ignition off n plug a battery booster into the lighter socket, n have all control of lights on switches on the dash and then turn the ignition one settin n it lights up n spits out the tape n at this time all dash/gauge lights are lit.

But still i cannot get the headunit to work, plus i dont have the code but have just seekd tht out (7149 or 159 i believe) besides this if any body has a clue wats up with it would b of help as id like to make sure i works proply b4 i intend to sell it on and fit a new headunit and ice install!

chrz all


Sounds obvious, but check fuses and power supply lines first.

#3 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 01:59 PM

Sounds obvious, but check fuses and power supply lines first.


It was a bit but thought i'd double check!!! :lol:

I went out there this mornin and checked all the power leads runnin into it and away from it, i also checked the speaker leads theirselves and all readings were fine so i went n got some new fuses n popped em in and......nothing :( -Sits scratching my head for 20 mins and repeats thewhole process again!- NOTHING :blink:

Bit of an odd pain in the !Removed! if u ask me, the next thing im gunna try is new speakers and see if tht makes a difference just incase they have gone and thrown it out and is still readin thru the wires as if its ok!

If anyone else has another idea, itll b muchly appreciated. :D

Chrz Lads/Ladiez!


#4 Hadleigh

Hadleigh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.25 Zetec 1999
  • Location: Wales

Posted 13 January 2009 - 02:21 PM

It was a bit but thought i'd double check!!! :lol:

I went out there this mornin and checked all the power leads runnin into it and away from it, i also checked the speaker leads theirselves and all readings were fine so i went n got some new fuses n popped em in and......nothing :( -Sits scratching my head for 20 mins and repeats thewhole process again!- NOTHING :blink:

Bit of an odd pain in the !Removed! if u ask me, the next thing im gunna try is new speakers and see if tht makes a difference just incase they have gone and thrown it out and is still readin thru the wires as if its ok!

If anyone else has another idea, itll b muchly appreciated. :D

Chrz Lads/Ladiez!



Seems like your having the same problem as me.

http://www.fordowner...?showtopic=2767

theres the link of my problem and one member stated that it could be the speakers, but i havnt tried that yet just wondering if you could let me no if it is the speakers. All my leads are showing the correct volts and ohms aswel!

Thankss

#5 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 02:27 PM

Seems like your having the same problem as me.

http://www.fordowner...?showtopic=2767

theres the link of my problem and one member stated that it could be the speakers, but i havnt tried that yet just wondering if you could let me no if it is the speakers. All my leads are showing the correct volts and ohms aswel!

Thankss


I just read thru urs too, sounds pretty much like the same thing to me!!! If the new speakers dont work i'm gunna go for the rewire, will take a few hours but will be needed as im gunna sling a new headunit in anyway, also im gunna test this headunit on a m8s Escort and see wat happens.

Another thing aswell have u lost your map light too? because tht doesnt work either and made me wonder if it was a fuse but after changin them shows its not (mind you i havnt tryd changin the bulb yet!!)

I'll let ya kno wat happens.

CHRZ :D


#6 Hadleigh

Hadleigh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.25 Zetec 1999
  • Location: Wales

Posted 13 January 2009 - 02:40 PM

I just read thru urs too, sounds pretty much like the same thing to me!!! If the new speakers dont work i'm gunna go for the rewire, will take a few hours but will be needed as im gunna sling a new headunit in anyway, also im gunna test this headunit on a m8s Escort and see wat happens.

Another thing aswell have u lost your map light too? because tht doesnt work either and made me wonder if it was a fuse but after changin them shows its not (mind you i havnt tryd changin the bulb yet!!)

I'll let ya kno wat happens.

CHRZ :D


Wish i knew how to re-wire it all. Would take me days.
Think i might go get speakers fitted now after work in halfords.
Whats the map light?

Before my headunit stopped working though my front left speaker was on its way out!

#7 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 02:44 PM

Wish i knew how to re-wire it all. Would take me days.
Think i might go get speakers fitted now after work in halfords.
Whats the map light?

Before my headunit stopped working though my front left speaker was on its way out!


Map light = the passenger/door light inside the car (i've got used to callin it tht sorry! lol)
Sounds like you could get away with new speakers if tht were the case, let me kno how it goes m8.

CHRZ :D


#8 Hadleigh

Hadleigh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.25 Zetec 1999
  • Location: Wales

Posted 13 January 2009 - 04:19 PM

Map light = the passenger/door light inside the car (i've got used to callin it tht sorry! lol)
Sounds like you could get away with new speakers if tht were the case, let me kno how it goes m8.

CHRZ :D


Just bought some Vibe SE-K 50 Door speakers with Tweeters (13cm speakers) Having trouble fitting them into the previous stock speakers space.
Also the yellow and white wires - which goes in the red and which goes in the black on the new vibe speakers?
Sorry im a n00b and dont know much!


Ohh an no lights on the dask have come up, eveyrthign else works apart form the CD player not powering up, nor the stock Ford tape player. :\

#9 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 04:36 PM

Just bought some Vibe SE-K 50 Door speakers with Tweeters (13cm speakers) Having trouble fitting them into the previous stock speakers space.
Also the yellow and white wires - which goes in the red and which goes in the black on the new vibe speakers?
Sorry im a n00b and dont know much!


Ohh an no lights on the dask have come up, eveyrthign else works apart form the CD player not powering up, nor the stock Ford tape player. :\


If my memory serves me rite i believe the yellow is the negative wire = black n white is the positive = red.
As for havin trouble fitting them in, wat size wer ur stock ones? (think theyre 10 or 12cm which could be the problem, but make sure u get the door cards off before fitting them and if the holes dont line up just re-drill to fit.

As for the interior light situation i guess i best try a new bulb lol!

CHRZ m8


#10 Hadleigh

Hadleigh

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.25 Zetec 1999
  • Location: Wales

Posted 13 January 2009 - 04:40 PM

If my memory serves me rite i believe the yellow is the negative wire = black n white is the positive = red.
As for havin trouble fitting them in, wat size wer ur stock ones? (think theyre 10 or 12cm which could be the problem, but make sure u get the door cards off before fitting them and if the holes dont line up just re-drill to fit.

As for the interior light situation i guess i best try a new bulb lol!

CHRZ m8


I think the door holes must be 10cm because these Vibe ones are 12cm and struggling to fit them in. You think i could cut 3 littles sqaures out the metal door in able to slide the speakers in?

#11 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 13 January 2009 - 04:42 PM

I think the door holes must be 10cm because these Vibe ones are 12cm and struggling to fit them in. You think i could cut 3 littles sqaures out the metal door in able to slide the speakers in?


You could do if ur careful and use something like a dremel and a steady hand! but personally id exchange em for 10cm ones

#12 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 12:59 PM

I fitted the new interior light bulb last nite + it works! :lol: So thats that outta the way! :D

Anyways i spent 3 hours this morning rewiring my speakers and putting some new jvc's in, this still didnt work :blink:

So i took my head unit round to a m8 n tested it on his Escort and it worked as if nothing was wrong. <_< So now im totally stumped as on wat to do as evrything reads fine when i test it (im wondering if theres a short in the power going into the head unit maybe caused by an earthing problem or something?) Anyone know where to go from here? Should i try an aftermarket CD player because im wondering whether itll jus do the same thing?

CHRZ


#13 DirtMuppet

DirtMuppet

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Fiesta 1300SX (J reg)

Posted 14 January 2009 - 01:01 PM

How did you get on hadleigh? I wasnt so lucky :(

CHRZ


#14 tunne1rat

tunne1rat

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Suffolk
Contributor

Posted 14 January 2009 - 01:24 PM

I fitted the new interior light bulb last nite + it works! :lol: So thats that outta the way! :D

Anyways i spent 3 hours this morning rewiring my speakers and putting some new jvc's in, this still didnt work :blink:

So i took my head unit round to a m8 n tested it on his Escort and it worked as if nothing was wrong. <_< So now im totally stumped as on wat to do as evrything reads fine when i test it (im wondering if theres a short in the power going into the head unit maybe caused by an earthing problem or something?) Anyone know where to go from here? Should i try an aftermarket CD player because im wondering whether itll jus do the same thing?

CHRZ


A wiring diagram of the car would be very useful right now!
In the absence of a wiring diagram, the next best thing would be to compare your set-up against your mates to determine where your wiring differs. Check all the wires going into his head-unit with your multimeter and write down the voltage read at each pin.

Do the same on yours, and compare to see if you have any wires giving a low or no voltage.

#15 mintalkin

mintalkin

    Ford Enthusiast

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,466 posts
  • Name: mintalkin
  • Ford Model: mondeo tdci 130
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Staffordshire

Posted 14 January 2009 - 03:32 PM

have you checked the fuse for the lighter socket, if someone has scotched locked the main power for the radio from this it would explain why the unit works from a plug in booster and not the ignition.

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users