Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Start Problem - Engine Malfunction, Immobiliser Active- Help Please.

Robi

Hi Everyone

I have a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 litre engine, TDCI, 58 registered. I bought it just 2 months ago from my friend who had it as a company car. I believe it was well maintained with required servicing. But now I encountered a problem. I am rather new to Ford cars, so I would appreciate any your help with the following issue.

I used my car 2 days ago without any problem. But today, I tried to start the car but the dashboard says: Engine malfunction, Immobiliser active. The engine does not want to start.

For couple of weeks I have been getting dashboard messages like: Stop Bulb Fault but all lights were ok. Other message was Low battery when using a radio even for a short time but I assumed that the battery is OK as the car used to start without any problem.

About a month ago I had to change a fuse for a cigar lighter. Now I checked visually all fuses in engine and under glove compartments but found no blown fuses. I also tried the spare car key to start the engine but without success.

Now I have no idea what could have happened.

I believe I have read all threads regarding immobiliser issues on this forum but still did not find any useful hint for my issue. I would like to avoid going to unknown garage or usually expensive service by a Ford dealer.

I appreciate your help with solving this issue.

Thanks a lot.

Hi Everyone

I have a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 litre engine, TDCI, 58 registered. I bought it just 2 months ago from my friend who had it as a company car. I believe it was well maintained with required servicing. But now I encountered a problem. I am rather new to Ford cars, so I would appreciate any your help with the following issue.

I used my car 2 days ago without any problem. But today, I tried to start the car but the dashboard says: Engine malfunction, Immobiliser active. The engine does not want to start.