Jump to content


Show
Photo
- - - - -

Whos Installed A Double Din Into Mk7?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:04 AM

What fascia did you use?

I'm very dubious to paying 180 for a fascia!

http://caraudiosecur...s_id/14773.html

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 Kingmunky

Kingmunky

    Settling In Well

  • Members via FB
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Name: Greg
  • Ford Model: Fiesta S1600
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Renfrewshire

Posted 11 January 2012 - 01:22 PM

Theres a fascia available from Pioneer that I've seen used in a mk7. You need a couple of bits n bobs extra though.

Thread on ZSOC here: http://zsoc.com/show...ad.php?t=227989

#3 rojariggs

rojariggs

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Name: Roger
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 11 January 2012 - 04:44 PM

It's £180 but you need to break down what they are including at typical eBay (or equiv) prices for parts like these:

Two fascia panels (top screen & main unit) = £35 each = £70
ISO lead = £10
Other accessories (can't make out what they are!) = So let's say = £5
Control unit to allow use of steering wheel remote controls = £70

That's already up to £155 based on low, estimated prices.

Depending on the coding required, the steering wheel modules can be very expensive (I remember paying over £100 a few years back for one).

£180 for just a fascia is a lot but this is not just a fascia that they are selling! You also have the benefit of someone else finding the various bits and bobs you need to make it work without the hassle.

#4 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 13 January 2012 - 09:24 PM

where you finding these prices? £70 for the wiring to use the steering controls?

http://www.ebay.co.u...#ht_2214wt_1016

#5 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 13 January 2012 - 10:05 PM

found this

http://www.dynamicso...ue-p-24730.html

£140 delivered, website has alot of good feedback on review sites too

#6 rojariggs

rojariggs

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 419 posts
  • Name: Roger
  • Ford Model: Fiesta 1.6 TDCI Titanium
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Hertfordshire

Posted 14 January 2012 - 06:37 AM

where you finding these prices? £70 for the wiring to use the steering controls?

Estimated prices based on what I've paid in the past when upgrading HUs. I don't know about the new Fiesta but the steering wheel control adapter can easily be £70 on many cars.

I was just trying to show that, while £180 seems a lot for a package, it it quite a comprehensive kit and that the individual components do add up.

#7 D4nz0

D4nz0

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 TDCI

Posted 14 January 2012 - 10:40 AM

Yeah man, I getcha. Seems to be that if I want to avoid the.cheap and nasty, its gonna be very expensive. Still to add a 500 head unit plus an amp to my already bought kit, then install it all in one go....

#8 Steve_goral

Steve_goral

    Member

  • FOC Supporters
  • 26 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:27 PM

I know this is an old topic, but you ever get round to fitting an aftermarket stereo?  I'm up for replacing the standard head unit in my MK7 and wondered if you had any success?

 

Tanks in advance.

 

Steve



#9 iNath

iNath

    ST-2 Mod

  • Super Mod
  • 3,586 posts
  • Name: Nathan
  • Ford Model: Molten Orange Fiesta ST-2
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Buckinghamshire
Contributor

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:06 AM

Don't do it Steve! Aftermarket ruins the look of the dash in a MK7, makes me cry a lil each time I see one.

#10 BobbyBCFC

BobbyBCFC

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Style 59
  • Location: Gloucestershire

Posted 03 March 2013 - 11:21 AM

These don't look good at all. With iNath on this for once :rolleyes:



#11 Steve_goral

Steve_goral

    Member

  • FOC Supporters
  • 26 posts
  • Name: Steve
  • Ford Model: Fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Wiltshire

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:29 PM

There must be a way to make it look good,  I do like the stock stereo but it would be nice to integrate a sat nav system into it.  I hate having an ugly thing stuck to my windscreen.  

 

Has anyone ever mounted a tablet into the dash?



#12 lyndonp

lyndonp

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Lyndon
  • Ford Model: Fiesta MK7
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:07 PM

We have been looking to upgrade the headunit in my son's 58 plate Mk7 and agree the readily available double DIN fascia replacement really spoils the look of the Mk7 dash.

 

However we have seen these (below) which seem to look really good and from the Youtube vids seem to work OK. Are there many members who have purchased this and can give some feedback as to their thoughts on the product? It appears to be using iGo satnav s/w on Windows CE 6.0.

 

http://www.ebay.co.u...=item3f1eae4b66

 

These Youtube vids show it in action:-

 

 

 

I did find one other thread where a member was selling his but that is the only one I can find:-

 

http://www.fordowner...eo-dvd-gps-etc/

 

Any feedback would be useful, for instance if there is something similar that fits in the display like this product as it really seems to enhance the dash. Thanks.



#13 b1g_dav3

b1g_dav3

    Ford Enthusiast

  • Moderator
  • 2,511 posts
  • Name: David
  • Ford Model: Fiesta Zetec S TDCi
  • Year: 2013
  • Location: Lancashire
Contributor

Posted 26 August 2013 - 07:44 PM

My only problem is Windows CE is absolute junk :/



#14 sammyg29

sammyg29

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Name: sam
  • Ford Model: fiesta
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 31 May 2014 - 07:27 PM

I know this is an old thread but I too have been looking into changing my head unit however, am I right in thinking the facia doesn't incorporate the hazard and c/locking buttons?

#15 Clarky2013

Clarky2013

    Addicted to boost

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • Name: Tom
  • Ford Model: Fiesta ST3 Spirit Blue
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Hampshire

Posted 31 May 2014 - 08:40 PM

I think this looks great! I would consider getting this for my St . Chances of finding one completely compatible though are slim I reckon

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users