Jump to content


Show
Photo

Focus Built In Handsfree


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 smiffy180

smiffy180

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6TDCI 110 DPF
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 January 2012 - 07:22 PM

I have the 2010 focus, on the dashboard i have the buttons for handsfree but when i press them it mutes the radio? Took it to the dealer where i bought it from (arnold clark) they had no idea and said go to ford; i went to the local ford garaged and their dealer was stumped, he suggested it comes with the car as they all share the same dashboard? Any clues as to why the buttons would be there? Can you wire it up to work or do you have to buy an aftermarket kit?

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#2 cuke

cuke

    Too much time on the boards

  • True Ford Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 727 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Mk3 Focus Titanium X
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Sussex

Posted 15 January 2012 - 07:39 PM

Hi, despie having the buttons your ICE needs a BT module to use handsfree, it may be possible to do this but at a cost. t would be cheaper to add something from Parrot http://www.amazon.co..._sl_iondno54a_b
Chris

#3 smiffy180

smiffy180

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6TDCI 110 DPF
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 January 2012 - 07:42 PM

Hi, despie having the buttons your ICE needs a BT module to use handsfree, it may be possible to do this but at a cost. t would be cheaper to add something from Parrot http://www.amazon.co..._sl_iondno54a_b
Chris

Thats a lot cheaper than i expected, think ill get one rather than ignoring calls. Does seem a shame to display the buttons and them be useless "/ cheers though :)

#4 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,902 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 15 January 2012 - 07:46 PM

I use a Parrot 3100, it's really good but there are ones that also stream Bluetooth Stereo for music playback.

#5 smiffy180

smiffy180

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6TDCI 110 DPF
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:00 PM

Have you had any problems when at high speed? Some reviews on other makes said their rubbish on motorway?

#6 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,902 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:04 PM

Sound is crystal clear, far better than sunblind mounted or ear mounted ones.
Mine has really good noise cancelling built in, mutes the radio and as long as the windows aren't wide open i get no distortion.

#7 smiffy180

smiffy180

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6TDCI 110 DPF
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 15 January 2012 - 08:09 PM

How does it mute the radio? Do you have to wire it into the car or is it a attatch and go? Sounds like yours is the one to go for :)

#8 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 13,902 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 15 January 2012 - 11:16 PM

The system runs off a box of tricks behind the dash.
It all connects to the radio loom and plays speech through the car's speakers.
like i said earlier, certain versions also stream stereo bluetooth (A2DP).
Saves having to wire up AUX connections for iPhones etc.
Halfords do a fair Parrot range.

#9 Rosnab

Rosnab

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Name: colin
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 TDCI
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Cheshire

Posted 16 January 2012 - 01:00 PM

I have had the same problem, My new company car 2010 focus has the same dash but the prior owner had a bury kit installed via cable so that the dash buttons work.. However bury dont do a cradle for my handset. Other than a parrot which doesnt use any part of the existing car kit i cant make/answer calls. really annoying!!! What is the point of having it on the dash! i Just want to be able to use the car to its full potential.


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users