Jump to content


Photo

Guide Fitting Cruise Control Focus Mk2 & Mk2.5 And Ford C-Max


  • Please log in to reply
533 replies to this topic

#211 Giffer2

Giffer2

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Ford Model: Focus Econetic
  • Location: Bridgend

Posted 18 February 2013 - 11:29 AM

The steering wheels seem pretty hard to come by at the moment, but as I have a 4 spoke wheel anyway would the following fit?

http://www.gasgoo.co...22/1348164.html

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#212 Stoney871

Stoney871

    Resident Peacekeeper

  • Super Mod
  • 15,825 posts
  • Name: Clive
  • Ford Model: Focus mk2 1.8 TDCI Sport
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 18 February 2013 - 11:45 AM

You've got to love the rough translation on some of these sites.

#213 redholt

redholt

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Name: Ben
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.8 TDCI Zetec
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:27 AM

So if after you fit the 4 spoke and it does not work, can you still whip it to ford to have it activated or are they not forthcoming about the whole thing?

#214 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,730 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 17 March 2013 - 01:46 PM

Just checked my gem seems to end BF, no cruise for me I guess...

#215 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 18 March 2013 - 04:45 PM

Wouldn't assume that yet....if the wiring is there, it'll work......if your PCM supports it.   Try to find out really is all you can do. I've activated it in a few GEM modules  now and swapped them into my car to test, and they all work. I think its more down to the PCM myself....... 



#216 murre87

murre87

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Ford Model: FordFocus II
  • Location: Essex

Posted 18 March 2013 - 04:56 PM

Wouldn't assume that yet....if the wiring is there, it'll work......if your PCM supports it.   Try to find out really is all you can do. I've activated it in a few GEM modules  now and swapped them into my car to test, and they all work. I think its more down to the PCM myself....... 

 

You need IDS or go to a ford garage. Instructions:

Firstly check calibration number in PCM programming and write it down.
Then
shut down IDS and this time let IDS connect to the car with IGnition
OFF. After some time you will get to a point where it says that a new
PCM might be installed. Leave Ign off and get to screen wheree it asks
for PCMN calibration number. Enter the one you previously wrote dowm.
Now go to programming, Module install and program PCM, it will then go
through all the options fitted like cruise control (speed control)



You
need to reprogram PCM with the speed control active. Though you have to
fool it by thinking you have installed a new PCM. Have ignition off
whilst IDS is connecting. Then pick model manually and you will need PCM
part number. You can get this on the programming page. Then it will go
through various configuration questions about what is fitted to vehicle.

 



#217 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2011
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:43 PM

There you go......sorted  :)   Ta.



#218 mrmetallica

mrmetallica

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: john
  • Ford Model: focus titanium 1.6
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 02 May 2013 - 10:10 AM

is there any fusses for this ? mine has stopped working and i cant see why.



#219 ffz

ffz

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 TDCI 109
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 03 May 2013 - 05:46 PM

I will be following this guide tomorrow, if I can get a steering wheel from a local scrapyard. 

 

Reading about the Russian software, and the modified ELM cable, is there any information out there related to premade remapping? Something along the lines of a Bluefin profile? 



#220 ffz

ffz

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 TDCI 109
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 05 May 2013 - 09:23 AM

So, I got a wheel, although the leather is ripped. 

 

Once I have had the Cruise Control activated, I'll be changing the wheel for one in better condition. 

 

Luckily for me, I was scratching my head trying to figure out if I knew anyone that works at Ford, and I remembered one of my Dad's customers is a Ford mechanic. Fingers crossed I can get it activated next week. 

 

All this effort, and I might sell it because I am getting pee'd off with the rust :-(



#221 ffz

ffz

    Settling In Well

  • New Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6 TDCI 109
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 08 May 2013 - 11:46 PM

If anyone is doing this in Doncaster, Stoneacre want £80 for the IDC/PCM activation, and I found an independant who wants £50.

#222 rus-45

rus-45

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Name: Dmitriy
  • Ford Model: Focus II
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 12 May 2013 - 06:29 AM

Cruise control can be done by hand.

25af846bb1b4.jpgd5be988af331.jpg35ebd93a22ec.jpgb37c38844563.jpg



#223 yaris

yaris

    Member

  • Members via FB
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Name: Jarek
  • Ford Model: c-mac
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Kilkenny

Posted 20 May 2013 - 03:21 PM

I have a GEM BF and I have successfully activate cruise control

#224 rus-45

rus-45

    Member

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Name: Dmitriy
  • Ford Model: Focus II
  • Year: 2010
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 20 May 2013 - 04:29 PM

Information as to establish their own hands buttons for cruise control is on the Russian site http://ffclub.ru/topic/3475/. I installed on my car cruise control. If you have any questions, please contact me.4730c2ce3fc4.jpg



#225 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 17,730 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 21 May 2013 - 04:27 AM

Hi Rus-45, are you saying that you have managed to install cruise control using that russian guide?

 

I find the translations are a bit rough, but are you able to compose a guide of your own based on the guide you followed and what you did to achieve the installation?

 

what parts did you buy and how much did it cost in all?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users