Jump to content


Photo

Guide Fitting Cruise Control Focus Mk2 & Mk2.5 And Ford C-Max


  • Please log in to reply
528 replies to this topic

#511 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 July 2014 - 04:06 PM

you wont know it works until you have fitted the buttons to be honest! but those buttons should definately do the job!

 

Remember you need a 500,000 kbps ELM cable so that you can write to the instrument cluster, any less and it will fail outright.



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#512 JonathanAbud

JonathanAbud

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Jonathan
  • Ford Model: Focus 1.6
  • Year: 2011
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 11 July 2014 - 04:10 PM

I bought this scanner obd2: http://pt.aliexpress...uctId=560975266

 

I'm hoping to get to start my work. Here in Brazil we are having trouble enabling CC in PCM because our cars are flex fuel. When they were just gasoline, we could enable us CC. If I get my car will be the first in the country that we know ...



#513 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 11 July 2014 - 09:34 PM

that might not be the right speed, but also you need to add the switch and wire the high speed and medium speed can.



#514 housleynick

housleynick

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: Nick
  • Ford Model: focus 1.8tdci
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 03 August 2014 - 10:59 AM

Hi

I have got my cruise control working by GEM and HEC but can't understand the Russian translation to get the PCM working.

What effect does the PCM have on the cruise control and is it really needed.

Nick



#515 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 13 August 2014 - 10:54 PM

its definately needed.

 

Theres about 3 or 4 steps to sort the gem board out. I remember posting on the russian forum and got the clarification but cant remember it!



#516 Ladiesman020

Ladiesman020

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: A
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 23 August 2014 - 04:47 PM

How would I go about adding CC to a MK1.5(53) Ghia TDCI



#517 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 30 August 2014 - 09:19 PM

You would probably need to swap steering wheel, gem board and have Ford involved. That I'd presuming the wires and switches are there. Unfortunately there is less you can do on the mk1

#518 Ladiesman020

Ladiesman020

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: A
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 30 August 2014 - 09:48 PM

Shame as having a 'Ghia' which are loaded with everything, but I would of though it would only be adding a Swich to control the cruise control



#519 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 31 August 2014 - 08:22 AM

To be honest it could be that simple, but you need to check you have the wiring, switches on pedals and you will need the additional stalk

#520 Ladiesman020

Ladiesman020

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Name: A
  • Ford Model: Ford Focus 1.8 TDCI Ghia
  • Year: 2003
  • Location: Greater London

Posted 31 August 2014 - 09:47 AM

And how would one find out if he has the correct wiring?



#521 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 31 August 2014 - 03:36 PM

Easiest way is to find a wiring diagram and look at cruise control to identify it's colours. If you have the right wires, your good to get started

#522 callmecheez

callmecheez

    Newbie

  • Members via FB
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Name: Chris
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2001
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 02 September 2014 - 03:42 PM

Anyone know of a company would would do this work for me? (ideally in Yorkshire!)



#523 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 05 September 2014 - 12:53 PM

to be honest you could pay most companies a small fortune to install it aftermarket for you! but to be honest, unless you have over £300 to get it done, its really not normally worth it. However, in the situation of the MK1.5 it is the best answer.

 

After a bit of research, I can say that Ford used to make a servo / linkage kit, and after the MK1.5 they integrated it into the PCM, because the cars where old and still are (by modern car standards) they stopped making them altogether. so if you have a MK1 / 1.5 Focus, you wont be able to retrofit yourself, and you would need to go aftermarket.

 

Something like this might possibly work?

 

http://www.thecruise...se-control-kit/



#524 du__f

du__f

    Newbie

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Name: Eduardo
  • Ford Model: Focus 2.0L
  • Year: 2009
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 17 September 2014 - 06:23 AM

Good evening gentlemen, regards from Brazil.

I have a Focus Duratec 2.0L 145hp Gasoline 2009, I installed the wheel with cruise control buttons, my car has sensors on the pedals, but the CC are not activated. I tried with FORD IDS, unsuccessful. I bought this ELM interface : http://www.ebay.com/...=item4184eb21b4

 

I can activate it? The process is easy and safe? 

 

THX!



#525 jeebowhite

jeebowhite

    Resident Loon

  • Super Mod
  • 16,966 posts
  • Name: James
  • Ford Model: Sea Grey Mondeo MKIV 1.8TDCi 140ps Zetec
  • Year: 2007
  • Location: Kent
Contributor

Posted 24 September 2014 - 04:39 PM

you should be able to do it with IDS, depending on if your clicking the right places...?



Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users