Jump to content


Photo

Guide Fitting Cruise Control Focus Mk2 & Mk2.5 And Ford C-Max


  • Please log in to reply
526 replies to this topic

#76 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 12 March 2012 - 01:35 PM

Lots of wheels on here...........

http://moto.allegro....tegory=620&sg=0

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...

Sign up to FOC Premium Membership To Remove These Ads

#77 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 March 2012 - 02:29 PM

That is were I bought mine. At the moment I have seen only 2 steering wheels with CC for Focus and lots of them for C-Max. Problem is sellers do not post to UK and most of them do not speak English, but prices are low and it might be worth arranging postage from Poland.

#78 Richiemac

Richiemac

    Feet Under The Table

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name: Richard
  • Ford Model: Focus 2014 1.6 tdci + S max 2007
  • Year: 2014
  • Location: Ireland

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:00 PM

Its a great site. I registered with PAYU and contacted a couple of sellers and they are willing to post to IRL, so i purchased a couple of bits for the S Max already :)

#79 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:05 PM

This is like e-bay here, Allegro is much more popular there.

#80 Psyence

Psyence

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Jamieson
  • Ford Model: C-Max II 2.0 D Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 16 April 2012 - 10:21 AM

Hi,

This is my first post here, i have read this forum with interest and have installed the cruise control functions on my 2008 CMAX Titanium.

I have been to a freindly garage, while there using the FORD IDS we confirmed that the cruise control is enabled in the GEMS & IC, however we couldnt confirm that it was enabled in the PCM.

Does anybody know how (using the FORD IDS) you enabled the cruise control option in the PCM?

Or alternatively can anybody recommend a garage in relatively near Milton Keynes who can do this for me ??

Thanks

#81 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 16 April 2012 - 02:39 PM

Never used Ford IDS , but i know that with ELMconfig and the ELM 327 modified cable you can access it and switch it on.

#82 kell

kell

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Name: mark
  • Ford Model: ford focus 1.8 tdci
  • Year: 2004
  • Location: Yorkshire

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:47 AM

just checked for switches and there dose not appear to be a switch on clutch pedal or am i looking in wrong place ? its a shame as i have found steering wheel with cruise control on it.
In the pic of clutch switch i cannot see the black and blue brake switches which i do have that is why i am asking the question or is my quest for cruise over ?

#83 Pidu

Pidu

    Feet Under The Table

  • New Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Name: Peter
  • Ford Model: Focus Titanium 2.0 AT
  • Year: 2006
  • Location: Devon
Contributor

Posted 17 April 2012 - 01:50 PM

Clutch sensor is required for CC. I've been told by Ford mechanic that he has never seen focus without clutch and break switches, but you never know which part Ford forgot to fit in your car :)
Check one more time. In case it is not there maybe you will find unplugged connector above clutch pedal and you could add the sensor?

#84 Psyence

Psyence

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Jamieson
  • Ford Model: C-Max II 2.0 D Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 20 April 2012 - 05:17 PM

A further update in the battle to enable cruise control on my C-Max.

Today i took my car to the Ford Garage in Peterborough who have enabled the cruise control option on a number of people cars. They battles away for 1 1/2 hours before telling me that the Ford IDS system would not allow them to activate the cruise control. They explained that in other peoples cars when they have reprogrammed (may be reinitialised) the option is available.

They said that it is likely to be one of two possible problems

1) The ECM doesnt contain the software internally to enable
2) There is a wiring fault

Does anybody know if the Ford ECUs are all the same but with different software versions or are there different versions of the electronics ?

I guess one option would be to replace the PCM (ECU) with one which will allow me to enable cruise control but i think the cost is going to be crazy.

Does anybody here have any ideas where i can go from here ?

Thanks

#85 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 20 April 2012 - 07:02 PM

Psyence
Before you start throwing money away , buy an ELM327 cable v1.5 off Ebay and try either ELM-FF2 or ELMconfig as the options are present in both program's to activate CC on your C-Max.

£11 for the cable
£2 for a switch and 15 minutes worth of soldering is better than even looking at an ECU

#86 Psyence

Psyence

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Jamieson
  • Ford Model: C-Max II 2.0 D Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 21 April 2012 - 05:31 AM

Hi Preee

Thanks for answering my post. I already own an ELM327 and have now tried the unoffical (FF2 / ELMConfig) methods as well as the offical approach via a Ford garage. In both cases the cruise control wouldnt work, and i do believe that the problem probably lies with the PCM.

What im trying to establish is; are the electronics is the PCM always the same ? does the module have a "personality" which is configured by software. If so the i hope i can simply get the PCM software altered.

What the Ford garage told me was, for other cars when the have enabled the cruise Control option, they simply activated it in the GEMS, HEC and in the PCM. However on my car it wasnt showing up as an option to be enabled on the PCM. And it is this that is making me think that there must be a personality descriptor that tells the Ford IDS system what the PCM is capable of.

If you have any more thoughts or ideas please let me know....

#87 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 21 April 2012 - 06:52 AM

Psyence
Hi i'm not sure of an answer regarding the PCM but if i come across anything i will pass any information over to you.

#88 Psyence

Psyence

    Member

  • New Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Name: Jamieson
  • Ford Model: C-Max II 2.0 D Titanium
  • Year: 2008
  • Location: Buckinghamshire

Posted 22 April 2012 - 10:08 AM

Hi Preee,

Thanks ....

I have been reading up more in to this topic, and over in the Fiesta forums they have been enabling Cruise control simply by altering the AS-BUILT Data and uploading it to the PCM, IC & Gems module. (Very similar to using the ELM-FF2 or ELMConfig software except that they can only talk to GEM & IC).

Does anybody know how to reload the AS-BUILT data using the Ford IDS system ?

Thanks Psyence.

#89 jarp

jarp

    Settling In Well

  • Budding Enthusiast
  • PipPipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Name: Jari
  • Ford Model: Focus
  • Year: 2005
  • Location: Other / Non-UK

Posted 28 April 2012 - 01:42 PM

Hi,

Just tried to enable CC using ELMConfig but no luck. I have all the switches and and wires on place and, but my GEM is model-C which may or may not be compatible. Though I just may have some luck and switched srteering wheel with CC buttons to my Ford Focus mk2 2005. Then I used GEM input test and indeed I got beeps and bleeps for each CC buttons. Finally I enabled CC in HEC and GEM moduels using ELMConfig and took my card to ride. However, CC buttons do nothing at all.

Does anybody have any idea I could try? Is Ford dealer able to do some further programming which s required and cannot be done by ELMCofnig or is my GEM module just too old for this? Is it possible to exchange new GEM module from some scrapped car?

Thaks!

Best regards,
J

#90 Preee

Preee

    Ford Fruitcake

  • Moderator
  • 4,099 posts
  • Name: Paul
  • Ford Model: Focus Tit X Mk3 | Fiesta Zetec Mk7
  • Year: 2012
  • Location: Shropshire
Contributor

Posted 28 April 2012 - 03:05 PM

Hi,

Just tried to enable CC using ELMConfig but no luck. I have all the switches and and wires on place and, but my GEM is model-C which may or may not be compatible. Though I just may have some luck and switched srteering wheel with CC buttons to my Ford Focus mk2 2005. Then I used GEM input test and indeed I got beeps and bleeps for each CC buttons. Finally I enabled CC in HEC and GEM moduels using ELMConfig and took my card to ride. However, CC buttons do nothing at all.

Does anybody have any idea I could try? Is Ford dealer able to do some further programming which s required and cannot be done by ELMCofnig or is my GEM module just too old for this? Is it possible to exchange new GEM module from some scrapped car?

Thaks!

Best regards,
J


I know i'm stating the obvious but you did try and test it while driving ?
I know it does nothing until at least 30 mph

*EDIT* sorry re-read your post you already tried that

Have something to contribute?

Sign in or register to start a topic...


Not what you're looking for?

Register now, we have a huge community of enthusiasts to answer any questions you might have



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users